Get Answers to your Appliance Repair Questions

Washer Parts  ·   Dryer Parts  ·   Refrigerator Parts  ·   Dishwasher Parts  ·   Range/Cooktop/Oven Parts  ·   AppliancePartsPros 

Author Topic: connecting appliance motor to house current for shop use  (Read 21632 times)

Offline schaffersapplian

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Oct 2008
  • Posts: 619
  • Country: us
  • Every action has a reaction
    • Facebook
Re: connecting appliance motor to house current for shop use
« Reply #10 on: September 18, 2010, 01:00:20 AM »

I have a bench grinder made out of a old maytag motor, i'll have to post pics.
Authorized Samsung, Electrolux, Whirlpool, GE, Fisher Paykal, and Maytag Servicer with over 10 years experience.

Offline awldune

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: May 2012
  • Posts: 1
Re: connecting appliance motor to house current for shop use
« Reply #11 on: May 24, 2012, 07:11:30 PM »
Hopefully it's OK if I resurrect this topic?

I've got one of these motors and was able to get it going using RegUS_PatOff's instructions. The first wiring he listed will turn clockwise.

I am hoping to install this motor in an old lathe, and had a couple of questions:

1. The motor jumps quite a bit at startup. Can I replace the start capacitor with a lower-rated one, and would this reduce that problem? Alternatively, would it hurt the motor to wire it without the cap and "bump start" it?

2. The motor is quite unwieldy.  Is there a standard means of mounting motors like this when repurposing? I was thinking I could basically build a wooden "C" around it to hold it down, but I wondered if there is some better way. I want to attach it to a wooden lathe stand.

Thanks,
Sam 

Offline RegUS_PatOff

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Dec 2007
  • Posts: 1410
  • Country: us
Re: connecting appliance motor to house current for shop use
« Reply #12 on: May 24, 2012, 09:07:35 PM »
1. The motor jumps quite a bit at startup. Can I replace the start capacitor with a lower-rated one
2. The motor is quite unwieldy. 
1) Jumps becasue of the high motor torque. Capacitor may not be needed at all, but still would have high torque.
2) need to mount motor adequately, to eliminate "jumping"
After leaving this Earth, "Do you want the smoking or non-smoking section?"

Offline Frank Hertel

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Feb 2014
  • Posts: 1
Re: connecting appliance motor to house current for shop use
« Reply #13 on: February 08, 2014, 03:09:19 PM »
Maybe this will help--see the attached file / drawing for E113 Motor Wiring with a simplified drawing

 

Modern Appliance Motor drives

Started by shieldcracker

Replies: 9
Views: 6848
Last post November 16, 2008, 07:14:26 PM
by Penguin45
My first appliance part - 285753 Motor Coupling .stl file for 3d printing

Started by AJ

Replies: 9
Views: 934
Last post January 30, 2017, 07:42:18 AM
by AJ
wiring an appliance motor.

Started by merc68

Replies: 0
Views: 198
Last post July 21, 2017, 08:24:37 PM
by merc68
Last I seen the cat was when the appliance guy was here.....

Started by AJ

Replies: 1
Views: 6402
Last post October 10, 2007, 03:05:09 PM
by maypo52
Kitchen appliance recommendations

Started by maypo52

Replies: 9
Views: 10436
Last post January 31, 2014, 10:13:00 PM
by afterblast
Appliance manufacturers company logos

Started by AJ

Replies: 0
Views: 7455
Last post October 18, 2007, 07:28:17 AM
by AJ