Get Answers to your Appliance Repair Questions

Washer Parts  ·   Dryer Parts  ·   Refrigerator Parts  ·   Dishwasher Parts  ·   Range/Cooktop/Oven Parts  ·   All Appliance Parts 

Author Topic: KitchenAid kssc36mhs00 freezer intermittent  (Read 2206 times)

Offline dab147315

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Oct 2010
  • Posts: 4228
  • Country: us
Re: KitchenAid kssc36mhs00 freezer intermittent
« Reply #20 on: August 14, 2017, 08:30:37 AM »

Yes that would be the next step.Werid you shut it off by the power switch and it comes on,but give it a try.
WP1113466 if you buy the part from this company and it does not fixed  it you can return it but lose the shipping both ways.Good luck.

Offline nj323ci

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Jun 2017
  • Posts: 23
Re: KitchenAid kssc36mhs00 freezer intermittent
« Reply #21 on: August 14, 2017, 10:39:10 AM »
Yes that would be the next step.Werid you shut it off by the power switch and it comes on,but give it a try.
WP1113466 if you buy the part from this company and it does not fixed  it you can return it but lose the shipping both ways.Good luck.

Thanks!
Part ordered. I'll keep you posted.

Alex

Offline nj323ci

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Jun 2017
  • Posts: 23
Re: KitchenAid kssc36mhs00 freezer intermittent
« Reply #22 on: August 17, 2017, 03:23:53 PM »
Yes that would be the next step.Werid you shut it off by the power switch and it comes on,but give it a try.
WP1113466 if you buy the part from this company and it does not fixed  it you can return it but lose the shipping both ways.Good luck.

Back with an update. Replaced the freezer thermostat and same issue still. I did notice that when the freezer stops cooling, the defrost timer also stops moving. Keep in mind I replaced the defrost timer with 2 new units just in case with the same outcome. Still turning unit off and back on resolves the issue 90% of the time and defrost timer starts moving normally again.
What would cause the defrost timer to stop advancing? What triggers the advancement? There are 4 wires so I'm assuming it is looking or sensing for some kind of signal correct?

Any other ideas? I'm running out of ideas at this point.

Also as an FYI the compressor never stops running while the freezer is not cooling. Only thing that turns compressor off is when the defrost timer hits it's 25 min defrost stage.

Looking forward to your response.
Thanks!!!

Offline dab147315

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Oct 2010
  • Posts: 4228
  • Country: us
Re: KitchenAid kssc36mhs00 freezer intermittent
« Reply #23 on: August 18, 2017, 08:58:27 AM »
Quote:( Also as an FYI the compressor never stops running while the freezer is not cooling. Only thing that turns compressor off is when the defrost timer hits it's 25 min defrost stage.)    I am at a lost too.Unless someone else on here has a opinion please jump in.Was hoping it would be one of those parts you replaced but at this point maybe call for service.Sorry i could not help you get this thing up and running.

Offline nj323ci

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Jun 2017
  • Posts: 23
Re: KitchenAid kssc36mhs00 freezer intermittent
« Reply #24 on: August 22, 2017, 08:54:44 AM »
Quote:( Also as an FYI the compressor never stops running while the freezer is not cooling. Only thing that turns compressor off is when the defrost timer hits it's 25 min defrost stage.)    I am at a lost too.Unless someone else on here has a opinion please jump in.Was hoping it would be one of those parts you replaced but at this point maybe call for service.Sorry i could not help you get this thing up and running.

No worries... thanks for all of your help and patience with me. Appreciate the effort! :thanks:

Offline Chuckp

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Aug 2017
  • Posts: 12
Re: KitchenAid kssc36mhs00 freezer intermittent
« Reply #25 on: August 23, 2017, 05:50:32 AM »
I am having the exact same situation with my side by side, but my model is kssp36qjs00.
I have replaced the following myself and still have the problem
Bimetal switch, condenser fan, overload sensor, start relay, timer switch, and lastly the thermostat freezer side

All ohms for compressor are normal range.   
I have the last part today which is the run capacitor. 

It is really funny that it is exactly the same as your troubles.   Have you had the tech is for repairs?  If so what was the trouble??

Thank you in advance

Offline Chuckp

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Aug 2017
  • Posts: 12
Re: KitchenAid kssc36mhs00 freezer intermittent
« Reply #26 on: August 23, 2017, 06:02:24 AM »
I forgot also did evaporator motor in freezer section

Offline nj323ci

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Jun 2017
  • Posts: 23
Re: KitchenAid kssc36mhs00 freezer intermittent
« Reply #27 on: August 23, 2017, 06:08:12 AM »
I am having the exact same situation with my side by side, but my model is kssp36qjs00.
I have replaced the following myself and still have the problem
Bimetal switch, condenser fan, overload sensor, start relay, timer switch, and lastly the thermostat freezer side

All ohms for compressor are normal range.   
I have the last part today which is the run capacitor. 

It is really funny that it is exactly the same as your troubles.   Have you had the tech is for repairs?  If so what was the trouble??

Thank you in advance

Hi
That's very odd you have the same problem.

What is a "bimetal switch"?

I'm thinking of trying the heater thermostat next. Maybe that is staying stuck open. Are you having the same problem with the defrost timer stopping?

I haven't called a tech in yet. Trying to save some money. I talked to him on the phone and he suggested the freezer thermostat which I replaced with no luck. Let's maybe work together to try and figure this mystery out. What do you think?

Offline Chuckp

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Aug 2017
  • Posts: 12
Re: KitchenAid kssc36mhs00 freezer intermittent
« Reply #28 on: August 23, 2017, 06:44:41 AM »
The bimetal switch , is the defrost thermostat.  The heater can only run during the 25 minutes it is in defrost.  The bimetal switch opens when it reaches a predesignated tempature in the freezer thus turning off the heater and coming back on when the temp reaches much colder. Most are about 42 degrees or so and makes contact again about 15-20 degrees.  Remember it is in a small part of the freezer  so the upper temp comes quick. 

I to had the timer stop, which is why I changed it first.    I will update later today after I receive the,run capacitor which is probably the last part to be able to be replaced by me.   Next step is to decide if this does not fix it is to call a tech and is it worth repairing a 16 year old freezer or give in to a new 6-8000 dollar one

Offline nj323ci

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Jun 2017
  • Posts: 23
Re: KitchenAid kssc36mhs00 freezer intermittent
« Reply #29 on: August 23, 2017, 09:04:04 AM »
The bimetal switch , is the defrost thermostat.  The heater can only run during the 25 minutes it is in defrost.  The bimetal switch opens when it reaches a predesignated tempature in the freezer thus turning off the heater and coming back on when the temp reaches much colder. Most are about 42 degrees or so and makes contact again about 15-20 degrees.  Remember it is in a small part of the freezer  so the upper temp comes quick. 

I to had the timer stop, which is why I changed it first.    I will update later today after I receive the,run capacitor which is probably the last part to be able to be replaced by me.   Next step is to decide if this does not fix it is to call a tech and is it worth repairing a 16 year old freezer or give in to a new 6-8000 dollar one

Thanks. That was the next part i was going to change. Do you have any frost buildup on the coils behind the freezer panel? I was going to remove the rear panel today to keep an eye if the coils are freezing up. Usually the actual panel gets frost/frozen as well and I have not seen that.

Let me know how the run capacitor works out for you. I'm thinking this may be main board related. It's been 2 days not and mine is working fine. I expect it to stop again later today. It's the normal process.

Offline Chuckp

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Aug 2017
  • Posts: 12
Re: KitchenAid kssc36mhs00 freezer intermittent
« Reply #30 on: August 23, 2017, 10:46:50 AM »
Still awaiting the capacitor, but Even when it was acting silly, there was NO frost buildup at all.
It could well be the main board, but there are NO replacements at all for this.  There are a few places that will repair it for you at about 100 to start, but at this point
I am probably willing to just throw up my hands and bite the bullet and get a new replacement one, which will be interesting as 36 inch is NOT a common size!!

Offline nj323ci

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Jun 2017
  • Posts: 23
Re: KitchenAid kssc36mhs00 freezer intermittent
« Reply #31 on: August 23, 2017, 11:24:55 AM »
Still awaiting the capacitor, but Even when it was acting silly, there was NO frost buildup at all.
It could well be the main board, but there are NO replacements at all for this.  There are a few places that will repair it for you at about 100 to start, but at this point
I am probably willing to just throw up my hands and bite the bullet and get a new replacement one, which will be interesting as 36 inch is NOT a common size!!

Same here at this point. I'll just wait to see what the capacitor does for you. Will probably start looking for another built-in as well. What brands are you looking it? I guess 16 years for an appliance now a days is decent.

Offline Chuckp

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Aug 2017
  • Posts: 12
Re: KitchenAid kssc36mhs00 freezer intermittent
« Reply #32 on: August 23, 2017, 06:08:52 PM »
Well the Jury is still out
I turned off the power and replaced the Capacitor, and the compressor came right on.... All was running before, but temp  had crawled to 35'
It has been running flawlessly for 4 hours and am totally hopeful   will keep you informed!!!

Just in case here is the suitable sub replacement for the original capacitor in My built in

Order Details:

Code       Item                                    Qty     Price   Grand Total
999509   999509:   RUN CAPACITOR       1   $19.95   $19.95
 
    Subtotal:    $19.95
    Tax:    $0.00
    Shipping Cost:    $8.97
    Grand Total:    $28.92



Thank you for shopping at www.edgewaterparts.com!
Visit us again at http://www.edgewaterparts.com/




Offline Chuckp

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Aug 2017
  • Posts: 12

Offline nj323ci

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Jun 2017
  • Posts: 23
Re: KitchenAid kssc36mhs00 freezer intermittent
« Reply #34 on: August 23, 2017, 06:15:26 PM »
http://www.partselect.com/Models/KSSC36MHS00/Sections/UPPER-UNIT/?ModelID=663995&ModelNum=KSSC36MHS00&mfgModelNum=&ManufactureID=3&Selected=RGQW1K57&Position=15&mfg=Whirlpool&Type=Refrigerator&Mark=15


It looks as if that is also your replacement capacitor also!
  as I said  will keep you informed

Thanks. Fingers crossed!

Was your compressor not working every time before? I actually think mine runs too much.
Keep me posted please. Ready to purchase if it seems like it will resolve the issue 

Offline Chuckp

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Aug 2017
  • Posts: 12
Re: KitchenAid kssc36mhs00 freezer intermittent
« Reply #35 on: August 23, 2017, 06:18:10 PM »
Mine also seemed to run continually...   It was running before, but temperature was climbing,  till I shut it off for 30 minutes and restarted

Fingers are crossed, and still going!

Offline nj323ci

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Jun 2017
  • Posts: 23
Re: KitchenAid kssc36mhs00 freezer intermittent
« Reply #36 on: August 23, 2017, 06:28:45 PM »
Mine also seemed to run continually...   It was running before, but temperature was climbing,  till I shut it off for 30 minutes and restarted

Fingers are crossed, and still going!
OK . Truly is the same issue I'm having.

Curious, how long did yours "work" for before you had to reset it? Mine was 4-6 hours to sometimes 2 days.

Offline Chuckp

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Aug 2017
  • Posts: 12
Re: KitchenAid kssc36mhs00 freezer intermittent
« Reply #37 on: August 23, 2017, 06:53:29 PM »
weird, exactly the same here!!!

I found the wiring schematic in the overhead outside the condensers.  There is ONE thing that that I see is that the timer gets its power straight from the buss/ outlet via the on /off switch.  BUT the ground for its power comes THROUGH the "REFRIGERATOR CONTROL BOARD" via the thermostat switch in the freezer

I do hope it is not the board as there are NONE


Chuck


Offline Chuckp

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Aug 2017
  • Posts: 12
Re: KitchenAid kssc36mhs00 freezer intermittent
« Reply #38 on: August 23, 2017, 07:22:37 PM »
Just got off the phone with a place that will walk you through the repairs some times and he says what it sounds like is there is a FLOATING BLOCKAGE possible in the line.   what that means is replacing the drier and purging the system and then a new drier and recharge system....  all at a great cost as licenses that they need and the refrigerant.   Drier is "KitchenAid Refrigerator Filter Drier" BOUT 17-25 DOLLARS, BUT THE LABOR AND TIME AND if IT WORKS ARE THE WILD CARDS   OH BY THE WAY IT IS climbing again so capacitor is not it!



Will keep you abreast of final decision!!!!!


Offline nj323ci

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Jun 2017
  • Posts: 23
Re: KitchenAid kssc36mhs00 freezer intermittent
« Reply #39 on: August 23, 2017, 07:59:21 PM »
Just got off the phone with a place that will walk you through the repairs some times and he says what it sounds like is there is a FLOATING BLOCKAGE possible in the line.   what that means is replacing the drier and purging the system and then a new drier and recharge system....  all at a great cost as licenses that they need and the refrigerant.   Drier is "KitchenAid Refrigerator Filter Drier" BOUT 17-25 DOLLARS, BUT THE LABOR AND TIME AND if IT WORKS ARE THE WILD CARDS   OH BY THE WAY IT IS climbing again so capacitor is not it!



Will keep you abreast of final decision!!!!!

I was hopeful that the capacitor would work. Guess not.

So by "floating blockage" I'm assuming you mean the refrigerant system? I would like to dive into the schematics more of how it is all wired up. I still think it is main board related. Could possibly be as easy as replacing a capacitor or component on the board. So odd that the defrost timer just stops advancing.