Get Answers to your Appliance Repair Questions

Washer Parts  ·   Dryer Parts  ·   Refrigerator Parts  ·   Dishwasher Parts  ·   Range/Cooktop/Oven Parts  ·   All Appliance Parts 

Author Topic: Samsung DMR78AHS continually stopping and starting, no error code  (Read 727 times)

Offline n17ikh

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Nov 2016
  • Posts: 3

I have a Samsung DMR78AHS that's recently developed a fault. It runs normally for a while then gets into a state where it pauses for a moment, beeps, beeps again, and starts back up, while flashing the screen on and off. It does this both during the wash and rinse cycle. Eventually it finishes the cycle, but it makes a 3-hour "heavy" cycle take about 6 hours and the dishes don't get clean. I took a short video of the behavior:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G9BWgvqI_iM
I ran it through the tests in the service manual and everything seems to function normally. It's almost like it thinks the door is being opened and closed during the cycle, but it seems normal during the service mode, where if the door switch were flaky it should show up there.

Anyone got any thoughts?

Offline n17ikh

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Nov 2016
  • Posts: 3
Re: Samsung DMR78AHS continually stopping and starting, no error code
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2016, 03:22:23 AM »
Actually after some more testing it does it with the door open as well. It pauses the cycle as it should but does the beep/turn off/beep/turn on/repeat dance. I opened up the door cavity and individually disconnected each front panel connector while it was going on and got no change in behavior, so I think that rules out the buttons/displays. I started through the main dishwasher connectors but the first connector I pulled caused it to throw an error code and run the drain motor. The problem only happens after an hour or so in cycle so it's a long process to eliminate variables.

Offline n17ikh

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Nov 2016
  • Posts: 3
Re: Samsung DMR78AHS continually stopping and starting, no error code
« Reply #2 on: November 11, 2016, 04:49:45 AM »
Just in case anyone is wondering, replacing the logic board seems to have cured the problem. A little unfortunate that it went out since the unit is only 5 years old.