Author Topic: Bosch 24 inch vented electric dryer model #WTA3510UCeat,but yhe Timed cycle has  (Read 1350 times)

Offline shillion

• Technician
  • I have been repairing appliances since 1983
My customer said she set the dryer to Max dryness,when it stopped,clothing was still damp wet.She started the dryer again on the same Max dryness setting hoping it would dry better this time.When the dryer stopped again after a few minutes,it was still damp.So now she used the Timed dry hoping it will force the dryer to dry the clothing more.It turned out she had to run the dryer on Timed dry 2 extra hours to finally get the clothing dry.The load was not too big,just a load from a matching Bosch washer.The Timed dry cycle has no heat.Only the air dryed the clothing,not the heat.This happened every time.That means the auto cycle has heat,the timed dry cycle has no heat,but the auto cycle cannot dry enogh,and the timed cycle took 2 hours more.Very frustrating.I was asked to find out why the Timed dry cycle has no heat.I realize may be the dryness sensor will need to be replaced because the dryer stopped too soon(LEAVING THE CLOTHING DAMP WET)..But why no heat on Timed dry cycle?I simply am not familiar with this Bosch design.On auto cycle,the drum would tumble one direction for about 10 seconds,stops a while,then reverse tumbling direction for 10 seconds,etc.But the heating pattern also changes.The dryer has 2 heaters of different wattages.I have a hard time understanding which heater comes on (or both come on,or alternating the heaters,why would it be necessary to be alternating?)After observing this action for 2 hours ,I still do not know what the computer control is doing,I give up.The 2 pages of electric diagram do not explain  the sequence of operation.Would anybody who is familiar with this Bosch dryer explain the sequence so those of us who do not can do some fixing?I would really appreciate it very much.Thanks a lot for your much needed help!

Offline shillion