Author Topic: F1 Error during self-cleaning of Frigidare range  (Read 1159 times)

Offline rhankins777

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Jan 2012
  • Posts: 2
F1 Error during self-cleaning of Frigidare range
« on: January 06, 2012, 11:00:01 AM »
Got an F1 error during a self cleaning cycle on my Frigidare range(PLCS389DCB). Shut off the breaker and after the oven had cooled turned the breaker back on and the F1error disappeared. Tested the bake and broil functions and they seem to be working ok. What would cause the F1 during a self-cleaning cycle? What can i do to correct it?

Offline bigbuck

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Jan 2011
  • Posts: 950
  • Country: us
  • over 30 years repairing appliance
    • Buy me a beer through paypal
Re: F1 Error during self-cleaning of Frigidare range
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2012, 12:03:23 PM »
f1 is eoc bad, replace eoc, part #AP3581500.

Offline jumptrout51

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Nov 2007
  • Posts: 1879
  • Country: us
    • Buy me a beer through paypal
Re: F1 Error during self-cleaning of Frigidare range
« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2012, 01:41:19 PM »
You may have gotten very lucky on the F 1 if the range still works.
It is recommended by most appliance repairmen NOT to use self clean.
Self clean temperatures destroy electronic controls and thermal fuses.
Easy Off works best.
Take a Kid fishing.

Offline rhankins777

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Jan 2012
  • Posts: 2
Re: F1 Error during self-cleaning of Frigidare range
« Reply #3 on: January 06, 2012, 04:33:38 PM »
Thanks. Does the EOC need to be replaced even though the oven appears to be working? Thanks also for the advice not to use the self-clean function. Why would the manufacturer put it in the product and then recommend not to use it?

Offline jumptrout51

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Nov 2007
  • Posts: 1879
  • Country: us
    • Buy me a beer through paypal
Re: F1 Error during self-cleaning of Frigidare range
« Reply #4 on: January 06, 2012, 05:08:02 PM »
Self clean is a sales point. Not a functional point.
It makes money for factory repairmen.
If it is working OK now go ahead and use it.
If you have any further code or problem in the near future,replace the EOC.
Take a Kid fishing.

 

Whirlpool Polara Range Error Code

Started by TechnicianBrian

Replies: 5
Views: 7990
Last post December 29, 2008, 09:03:25 PM
by TechnicianBrian
Kitchenaid Range F1 E6 Error

Started by TechnicianBrian

Replies: 0
Views: 3105
Last post August 19, 2008, 06:46:27 AM
by TechnicianBrian
Dacor Range F1 Error Code

Started by TechnicianBrian

Replies: 0
Views: 17248
Last post November 09, 2008, 07:34:10 AM
by TechnicianBrian
Frigidaire gas range error code F10

Started by max190

Replies: 4
Views: 9232
Last post February 06, 2009, 02:52:59 PM
by max190
F9 error code on maytag5780 gas range

Started by kdmurphy44

Replies: 1
Views: 1948
Last post February 07, 2009, 08:48:53 PM
by Repair-man
KAC-35 KitchenAid Self-Cleaning Slide-In Gas Range Service Manual

Started by AJ

Replies: 0
Views: 1780
Last post August 18, 2009, 12:57:03 PM
by AJ