Author Topic: Frigidaire Smooth Top Oven Broil Not working  (Read 3761 times)

Offline Robbie13

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 7
Frigidaire Smooth Top Oven Broil Not working
« on: October 29, 2011, 02:04:07 PM »
Hello all. New this forum. I have a Frigidaire Model PLES389ECH oven. My broil quit working. I took out the element and measured 20 ohms. That appears to be good. I measured the voltage on the wires going to the this element. Once I push the broil button I have 120v on one side and nothing on the other side. Best I can tell from wiring diagram one side feeds the bake element and the broil element. Bake element is fine. What would be good to check next? Also, for the life of me I can not figure out how to get the front control panel off where I can check anything back there. I took out the screws just under the panel, but it still seems as if there is something holding it in place so that I can't pull it off. Any suggestions?

Offline tgoods

  • Technician
    Moderator
  • Member Since: Jul 2010
  • Posts: 1521
  • Country: us
    • Buy me a beer through paypal
Re: Frigidaire Smooth Top Oven Broil Not working
« Reply #1 on: October 29, 2011, 02:52:47 PM »
To get to the control board, remove the burner knobs and then remove the nuts from the burner switches.  Then the control panel should lift right up. Start the broil and check for a voltage drop at the L1 and Broil terminals on the control board. If you get 240vac you have a bad control board, 316418735.

Offline Robbie13

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 7
Re: Frigidaire Smooth Top Oven Broil Not working
« Reply #2 on: October 29, 2011, 02:55:44 PM »
I saw those nuts. Didn't think I would have take those off, but I guess that's what I get for thinking. Will check that. Thanks so much for the reply.

Offline Robbie13

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 7
Re: Frigidaire Smooth Top Oven Broil Not working
« Reply #3 on: October 29, 2011, 05:18:20 PM »
GOT IT FIXED! Once I got the front control panel off (thanks) I found I had L1 and L2 going in and out of control board with broil on just as it should be. I was getting the 120v previously coming from the broil button output just not the other side that also feeds the bake element. After seeing and checking the wires I found that the L2 wire is tied in together with the bake and another wire. Evidently I just had a bad connection on the harness plug or at the point where the common wires tie in together. Anyway it's working now. I can tell from the burn on my finger after checking the broil element. Thanks for the info on taking the panel off.

Offline tgoods

  • Technician
    Moderator
  • Member Since: Jul 2010
  • Posts: 1521
  • Country: us
    • Buy me a beer through paypal
Re: Frigidaire Smooth Top Oven Broil Not working
« Reply #4 on: October 29, 2011, 06:40:27 PM »
 O0

Offline Robbie13

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 7
Re: Frigidaire Smooth Top Oven Broil Not working
« Reply #5 on: November 23, 2011, 09:18:55 AM »
Ok. It crapped out again. Broiler element not working. Element ohms good. When I take off the control panel, I am not getting the 120vac off of P2 which is the output going to one side of the element. Should I start looking for a new control panel or is there anything I am missing or can do?

Offline tgoods

  • Technician
    Moderator
  • Member Since: Jul 2010
  • Posts: 1521
  • Country: us
    • Buy me a beer through paypal
Re: Frigidaire Smooth Top Oven Broil Not working
« Reply #6 on: November 23, 2011, 09:41:25 AM »
Sounds like a bad broil relay on the board.  I think you have 3 options.
1. Buy a new board.
2. Have the board repaired by someone like fixyourboard.com
3. If you have soldering skills and can source the relay, repair the board yourself.

Offline Robbie13

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Oct 2011
  • Posts: 7
Re: Frigidaire Smooth Top Oven Broil Not working
« Reply #7 on: November 23, 2011, 10:52:38 AM »
Yep. You are correct. Relay K5 on the board is sticking. A slight tap to this relay and I have the broil element back. I will be replacing this relay. Only problem is I can't read the info on the side of the relay as it is right beside the bake element. It is different than the bake element. I will see what I can find out on K5 relay. I think a relay will be cheaper than a $220 control board. I have tons of soldering experience. Thanks again.

Offline AJ

  • Technician
    Administrator
  • Member Since: Jun 2007
  • Posts: 9480
  • Country: us
    • ApplianceJunk.com - Appliance Repair
Re: Frigidaire Smooth Top Oven Broil Not working
« Reply #8 on: December 11, 2011, 08:05:53 AM »
Hi Rob,

Did you end up being able to replace the K5 relay?
Hope you find our site helpful.

 

Frigidaire Electric Double Wall Oven - Elements stopped working one by one

Started by adam2u

Replies: 1
Views: 3336
Last post August 03, 2010, 06:44:37 PM
by JWWebster
Frigidaire Oven, Top and Bottom Elements stopped working -- Fixed

Started by bio132

Replies: 1
Views: 2823
Last post September 24, 2010, 12:28:36 PM
by AJ
Frigidaire PLES389ECE Oven control panel not working

Started by tfmc

Replies: 3
Views: 79
Last post November 23, 2014, 09:53:20 AM
by tfmc
Frigidaire oven temp sensor probe?

Started by jon

Replies: 1
Views: 7359
Last post July 08, 2007, 06:06:26 PM
by AJ
jenn air oven broil switch #704355

Started by jimfish

Replies: 2
Views: 3058
Last post March 14, 2008, 11:28:27 AM
by JWWebster
Frigidaire Microwave Turntable Stopped Working

Started by TechnicianBrian

Replies: 0
Views: 3829
Last post April 14, 2008, 10:04:51 PM
by TechnicianBrian