Author Topic: Top Loader has gone through 4 load sensing switches  (Read 4850 times)

Offline ScottyMo1

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 168
Top Loader has gone through 4 load sensing switches
« on: November 21, 2011, 05:48:14 PM »
Mod# WTW57ESVW1 we have put 4 load sensing switches on this unit. One thing that bothers me is this machine does not act like most bad sensing switches. Most will fill and agitate at the same time. This one will not fill or agitate, I changed the switch today and all works normally. Any clues.

Thanks
Mo

Offline JWWebster

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Jan 2008
  • Posts: 8780
  • Country: us
  • SublimeMasterJW
    • Buy me a beer through paypal
    • JW's Sublime Appliance Advice
Re: Top Loader has gone through 4 load sensing switches
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2011, 07:01:41 PM »
Well it is made in China. LOL
May the hinges of our friendship
        never grow rusty.

About the icons: The beer is tip link, if a tech saves ya some money buy em a 6 pack. The small green square=personal message. The green dot is a link to my web page on appliance repair and other general BS I love to post. The letter sends me email.
I love fan letters! LOL

Offline whirlpooltech

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Nov 2007
  • Posts: 1367
  • Country: us
  • 20 years of experience
Re: Top Loader has gone through 4 load sensing switches
« Reply #2 on: November 21, 2011, 08:12:06 PM »
What is the factory part number on that switch?

Offline RegUS_PatOff

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Dec 2007
  • Posts: 1410
  • Country: us
Re: Top Loader has gone through 4 load sensing switches
« Reply #3 on: November 24, 2011, 02:34:24 AM »
... and you always take the old part along with you ? :popcorn:
After leaving this Earth, "Do you want the smoking or non-smoking section?"

Offline ScottyMo1

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Nov 2011
  • Posts: 168
Re: Top Loader has gone through 4 load sensing switches
« Reply #4 on: November 24, 2011, 07:28:57 AM »
The part number on that switch is W10248240. Yes I have to turn the old part back in to the company I work for.

Offline wpcustomerguy

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Dec 2011
  • Posts: 1
Re: Top Loader has gone through 4 load sensing switches
« Reply #5 on: December 13, 2011, 05:28:11 PM »
PLEASE READ:

I sent an online message/complaint to Whirlpool on 12/6/2011. I am not really satisfied with the outcome, but the email discussion is below. I urge any customer having the same problem to send their complaints in to whirlpool so that they will be officially documented (that goes for any product from any company). Companies won't care unless they have the numbers to prove that their customers aren't happy (sad but true). As of this writing, the link to contact Whirlpool is: http://www.whirlpool.com/contact-us/. If it has since changed, there is usually a "contact us" link on the company homepage. Good luck to anyone having the same problem!



[START EMAIL DISCUSSION]

(My initial Message)
----------------------

Washer Model #: WTW57ESVW1: I have owned this washer for about 2 years. Yesterday the washer started agitating before it was full and when extra rinse is off, it will add 4 inches of water after final spin cycle. From my background in electrical and computer engineering, I was able to deduce that the level/temperature sensor is likely the cause (pt# W10248240). I decided to search the internet and I found thousands of complains about this one part failing. I need a new W10248240. I am looking for a new part, but find that they are quite expensive. I am not particularly happy with my purchase and will think again before buying another Whirlpool appliance. Is there no way I can get a cheaper W10248240 for my washer?



(Whirlpool's Response)
----------------------

Dear ***:

Thank you for visiting the Whirlpool web site. We appreciate hearing from you and apologize for the delay in response.

We apologize that the Whirlpool washer is filling with four inches of water after the Spin Cycle has completed. While it is possible for other owners to have similar issues with the same model, certain criteria must be met in order for a recall on a specific model to be initiated. This product does not have any ongoing recalls, so the standard manufacturer's warranty would take precedence. Unfortunately, we will not be able to sell a sensor at a discount price.

It is normal for the washer to agitate before it fills. The washer will do a self test to determine the amount of water to add based on the amount of clothing and soil level. This process may take a few minutes; however, we would recommend service since the unit is filling after the Spin Cycle, and Extra Rinse was not selected.

A Local, Certified Technician is in the best position to assist you and has the technical knowledge to accurately evaluate your situation. You may schedule service directly from our website using the link provided below or by calling our Customer Experience Center.

http://www.whirlpool.com/schedule_repair

A service charge plus labor may apply.

To allow us to document your complaint, please provide the following information:

Complete Address:
Primary phone Number:
Serial Number:
Purchase Date:
Dealer's Name:

You are a valued Whirlpool customer and we apologize for any inconvenience this concern may have caused.

We invite you to contact Whirlpool again either by calling (866) 698-2538 between 8:00am to 8:00pm EST weekdays or by emailing whenever the need arises. When calling please press the available option or stay on the line to reach a representative.

Sincerely,

***
e-Solutions Specialist
Whirlpool Customer eXperience Center
http://www.whirlpool.com

*If replying, please use Forward versus Reply or New as that will leave this message intact and will help us to respond faster.



(My reply)
----------------------

I appreciate the response, though I may not have been fully correct in the way I explained that the "washer started agitating before it was full." What I mean is that as soon as a wash cycle is initiated by pulling the timer knob out, the agitator starts immediately while simultaneously filling the washer. I know this is not the way the washer is supposed to operate. It had never done this in the 2 years I have owned it until now. As mentioned in the previous email, there are a plethora of Internet complaints that mirror my own. When the part is replaced, both the agitation and the fill after spin problem return to normal operation. I understand that you may not have received adequate complaints to warrant a recall for the part, so I will order one soon. I will, however, recommend to the many customers posting online to send complaints to Whirlpool so that their complaints are heard and accounted for. As you have asked, I have included the requested info about my washer below so that my complaint is on record. Thank you for your time.

Complete Address: ***
Primary phone Number: ***
Serial Number: ***
Purchase Date: ***
Dealer's Name: ***

[END EMAIL DISCUSSION]

A few days later, I received a message on my answering machine from the customer service rep who stated that my complaint was filed and if I had any questions or concerns that I could call or email.

Offline bigbuck

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Jan 2011
  • Posts: 953
  • Country: us
  • over 30 years repairing appliance
    • Buy me a beer through paypal
Re: Top Loader has gone through 4 load sensing switches
« Reply #6 on: December 13, 2011, 05:40:55 PM »
thats that switch with the pressure switch hose connected to it.-- i have replaced 3 in the baltimore md. area already!!!

Offline maggies

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Dec 2011
  • Posts: 3
Re: Top Loader has gone through 4 load sensing switches
« Reply #7 on: December 19, 2011, 02:53:48 PM »
Thank you, wpcustomerguy!   Having the exact same problem, and our machine just had it's second birthday.  I'll be complaining to Whirlpool and appreciate what you posted re: what info to give them and their not-unexpected tepid reply. I can guarantee I won't be buying any more Whirlpool products.    Were you able to find that part reasonably priced?  I have just begun looking........

thanks again........

Offline AJ

  • Technician
    Administrator
  • Member Since: Jun 2007
  • Posts: 9375
  • Country: us
    • ApplianceJunk.com - Appliance Repair
Re: Top Loader has gone through 4 load sensing switches
« Reply #8 on: December 19, 2011, 03:26:56 PM »
Were you able to find that part reasonably priced?  I have just begun looking........

thanks again........

Buying the parts through our parts affiliates helps support this site.

Affiliate Disclosure

Hope you find our site helpful.

Offline maggies

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Dec 2011
  • Posts: 3
Re: Top Loader has gone through 4 load sensing switches
« Reply #9 on: December 19, 2011, 04:48:22 PM »
Thanks, AJ......I did check the affiliate site, and they are out of stock.  Big shock..... :-)

Offline maggies

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Dec 2011
  • Posts: 3
Re: Top Loader has gone through 4 load sensing switches
« Reply #10 on: December 19, 2011, 06:35:23 PM »
Just my last .02......I wrote Whirlpool a second time after I read a post at another site:

"The repairman stated that this part fails frequently as there was a manufacturing defect and the parts are now made by a supplier in the US rather than in China as was originally the case."  I've checked about 10 places online and all are 'out of stock'. 

I've seen so many posts re: problems with this part that I will never purchase another Whirlpool (or Maytag, or any other company associated with them).  I'd bet money that Whirlpool knows all about this part and is sticking to the one year warranty so they don't have to repair thousands of appliances....

Offline AJ

  • Technician
    Administrator
  • Member Since: Jun 2007
  • Posts: 9375
  • Country: us
    • ApplianceJunk.com - Appliance Repair
Re: Top Loader has gone through 4 load sensing switches
« Reply #11 on: December 23, 2011, 12:24:55 AM »

Thanks, AJ......I did check the affiliate site, and they are out of stock.  Big shock..... :-)


Just a heads up if anyone is still looking to get there hands on one of these switches.


RepairClinic has the switch Part # W10248240 back in stock.

Click on the part number or image for more info.

Hope you find our site helpful.

Offline richseattle56

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Jun 2011
  • Posts: 4
Re: Top Loader has gone through 4 load sensing switches
« Reply #12 on: July 18, 2014, 08:24:39 PM »
There is a class action lawsuit on this washer.

 

70 Series top loader won't spin under load

Started by triadmidas

Replies: 17
Views: 4334
Last post February 13, 2009, 05:00:42 AM
by Repair-man
Maytag Load-Sensing Washer

Started by woody

Replies: 2
Views: 3253
Last post November 03, 2010, 06:44:38 PM
by JWWebster
Desperately seeking advice! Load sensing washer won't fill.

Started by midwest

Replies: 12
Views: 6058
Last post June 25, 2012, 01:03:43 PM
by AJ
whirlpool wtw5100v02 top loader no hot wash on small load

Started by stocpro47

Replies: 8
Views: 866
Last post September 11, 2013, 09:27:28 AM
by stocpro47
Frigidaire Front Load washer making noise.

Started by curtis

Replies: 3
Views: 7206
Last post July 05, 2007, 09:25:04 PM
by AJ
Water Collecting in Boot on Select Frigidaire Front-Load Washers

Started by AJ

Replies: 1
Views: 4420
Last post August 05, 2013, 08:42:08 PM
by Cananot