Author Topic: ge FRIDGE, tripping the circuit breaker, compressor? overload/ptc  (Read 9549 times)

Offline nolazach

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 357
model# GSL25IFRFBS


I really don't feel like changing the compressor (yes I am licensed, yes I have the tools, yes I've done it before)


  I haven't got a chance to look at it yet, but I know in A/Cs and many other units with compressors, a tripped circuit is usually a ground fault in the compressor from failure.


I do notice this has an overload on it.  How do I further test this?


  I'm not a fan of working on fridges with the control boards and all, but I would think if the problem is in the board the internal fuse would trip. 
Im reading the fault at the overload/ptc.  And that is much easier and cheaper to replace. 

Offline whirlpooltech

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Nov 2007
  • Posts: 1367
  • Country: us
  • 20 years of experience
Re: ge FRIDGE, tripping the circuit breaker, compressor? overload/ptc
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2011, 07:42:11 AM »
Check the compressor with a ohm meter to see if the windings are grounded out.

Does it trip the breaker right away all the time?
Is it a ground fault breaker?

Offline Washaman

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Jul 2009
  • Posts: 509
  • Country: us
Re: ge FRIDGE, tripping the circuit breaker, compressor? overload/ptc
« Reply #2 on: October 17, 2011, 07:53:35 AM »
I personally own a GE fridge. Last Christmas it tripped the breaker. After I reset it the fridge and freezer both cooled down to about -10 degrees and the digital readout was goofed up. I ended up shutting it off and on for a few months so my food wouldn't freeze till it quit all together. It never did trip the breaker again though. I replaced the control board in it and it came back to life good as new.

Offline nolazach

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 357
Re: ge FRIDGE, tripping the circuit breaker, compressor? overload/ptc
« Reply #3 on: October 17, 2011, 10:34:59 AM »
Check the compressor with a ohm meter to see if the windings are grounded out.

Does it trip the breaker right away all the time?
Is it a ground fault breaker?

Yes it is a GFCI breaker.  It trips it as soon as you plug it in.  I'm going to pull the overload unit off, as the manual I had had a different, diagram, and I didn't notice that the overload was seperate from the compressor.


Offline whirlpooltech

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Nov 2007
  • Posts: 1367
  • Country: us
  • 20 years of experience
Re: ge FRIDGE, tripping the circuit breaker, compressor? overload/ptc
« Reply #4 on: October 17, 2011, 10:43:14 AM »
Is the GFCI built into the outlet or the house breaker?

Try plugging it into a outlet that is not GFCI. I have had more problems with refrigerators tripping GFCI outlets and I could not find anything wrong with the refrigerators. Plug them into a standard outlet and they run just fine.

A few of these had even been new refrigerators. If I recall correctly the owners manuals even said something about not using a GFCI outlet.

Offline nolazach

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 357
Re: ge FRIDGE, tripping the circuit breaker, compressor? overload/ptc
« Reply #5 on: October 17, 2011, 10:47:38 AM »
I can understand that, but when I did a continuity check on the plug, I am getting 0 resistance between the neutral and the power leads.  At the overload I am getting the same thing.  Both my analog and digital meters show the same thing.

It is a GFCI outlet, but I'm sure with 0 resistance it will short any circuit. 

Offline nolazach

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 357
Re: ge FRIDGE, tripping the circuit breaker, compressor? overload/ptc
« Reply #6 on: October 17, 2011, 10:49:45 AM »
I was hoping a bad plug.  I didn't really get to troubleshoot the board. 
  It is possible that the short is there.  I actually printed dome flow charts and tons of other info from the manual I got from this site.  I'm going to mess with it some more.  GE fridges always have to be a little more difficult.

  There is a short somewhere in the fridge. 

Offline whirlpooltech

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Nov 2007
  • Posts: 1367
  • Country: us
  • 20 years of experience
Re: ge FRIDGE, tripping the circuit breaker, compressor? overload/ptc
« Reply #7 on: October 17, 2011, 10:52:34 AM »
Let us know what you find.

Offline JWWebster

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Jan 2008
  • Posts: 8780
  • Country: us
  • SublimeMasterJW
    • Buy me a beer through paypal
    • JW's Sublime Appliance Advice
Re: ge FRIDGE, tripping the circuit breaker, compressor? overload/ptc
« Reply #8 on: October 17, 2011, 11:07:23 AM »
I once removed the board on one of these new fangled wonders and on the back side was a loose connection I soldiered it back and it worked. The condenser fan would work but the compressor would not come on at all.
If you feel like it may be the relay unplug it from the compressor and place it where it won't ground aginst anything and see if it still trips the breaker with the compressor unplugged. If it don't then check for shorted compressor. If compressor ain't shorted get a new relay and party on.
« Last Edit: October 17, 2011, 11:17:36 AM by JWWebster »
May the hinges of our friendship
        never grow rusty.

About the icons: The beer is tip link, if a tech saves ya some money buy em a 6 pack. The small green square=personal message. The green dot is a link to my web page on appliance repair and other general BS I love to post. The letter sends me email.
I love fan letters! LOL

Offline nolazach

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 357
Re: ge FRIDGE, tripping the circuit breaker, compressor? overload/ptc
« Reply #9 on: October 17, 2011, 11:24:04 AM »
Yes, I admit I may have jumped to conclusions thinking it was the compressor, there is an obvious short.  While changing the compressor would be a pain, it at least comes with all the parts needed and I found it for $170 shipped.  But I'd much rather not deal with changing refrigerant.  While I did get my HVAC license, I still don't like to mess with it.


Offline RegUS_PatOff

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Dec 2007
  • Posts: 1410
  • Country: us
Re: ge FRIDGE, tripping the circuit breaker, compressor? overload/ptc
« Reply #10 on: October 17, 2011, 04:17:41 PM »
un-plug Start relay from Compressor...
Does it stilll trip the House Breaker ?
After leaving this Earth, "Do you want the smoking or non-smoking section?"

Offline nolazach

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 357
Re: ge FRIDGE, tripping the circuit breaker, compressor? overload/ptc
« Reply #11 on: October 17, 2011, 08:01:56 PM »
Okay. This is for a friend.  I fix commercial kitchen equipment for my self as I plan to open a restaurant soon my background is I was an ATM technician.  So I am good at process work.

Anyway.

  I took the relay off, and I have  0 resistance across all of the three pins on the compressor.  There is a short in the compressor itself, and I had to order a new one.

 The fault is 100% inside the compressor.  There is no way you should have 0 resistance on the pins.

Offline whirlpooltech

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Nov 2007
  • Posts: 1367
  • Country: us
  • 20 years of experience
Re: ge FRIDGE, tripping the circuit breaker, compressor? overload/ptc
« Reply #12 on: October 17, 2011, 08:06:12 PM »
Let us know how replacing the compressor goes for you, good luck...

Offline nolazach

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 357
Re: ge FRIDGE, tripping the circuit breaker, compressor? overload/ptc
« Reply #13 on: October 17, 2011, 08:28:12 PM »
I will, I know it isn't hard.  I just like doing cars and big units better,  doing a fridge requires all kinds of crazy steps.
  I dodn't even think I have all the tools.  Oh well, I got a credit account with the local App store...
  I will update once it goes in.

  I'm an idiot though I told him $300 for everything, and the compressor is almost $200, and then the freon and the crap I have to buy...

  Oh well.

Offline RegUS_PatOff

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Dec 2007
  • Posts: 1410
  • Country: us
Re: ge FRIDGE, tripping the circuit breaker, compressor? overload/ptc
« Reply #14 on: October 17, 2011, 10:04:15 PM »
... I have  0 resistance across all of the three pins on the compressor.
... depends on what scale on your OHM meter you're using...
Should be a digtal OHM meter on the 200 OHM scale
Compressor readings may be as low as 2 OHMs to 12 OHMs
After leaving this Earth, "Do you want the smoking or non-smoking section?"

 

GE 6 years old fridge not cooling, compressor on 24/7?

Started by mdm6713

Replies: 16
Views: 5628
Last post January 14, 2009, 11:05:55 AM
by JWWebster
Fridge failing slowly.. not cold anymore! Overload and Start Relay?? not sure??

Started by femme nouveau

Replies: 0
Views: 1970
Last post June 11, 2009, 08:41:39 PM
by femme nouveau
Whirlpool fridge compressor

Started by jvh75021

Replies: 5
Views: 4086
Last post November 20, 2009, 10:21:49 AM
by JWWebster
Ge fridge w/circuit board not cooling

Started by rego

Replies: 6
Views: 1438
Last post December 14, 2011, 05:40:26 PM
by Blazeracer
GE upright freezer tripping breaker

Started by dodi1982

Replies: 9
Views: 2522
Last post March 21, 2012, 03:16:12 AM
by Brent@CanBC
How to check a compressor, overload, start relay and run capacitor

Started by AJ

Replies: 0
Views: 1164
Last post November 04, 2012, 10:17:13 AM
by AJ