Author Topic: Introduction  (Read 957 times)

Offline Old_Radio_Collector

• VIP Member
Introduction
« on: September 25, 2011, 07:38:16 PM »
I just wanted to introduce myself...I have been working on washers and dryers since I was 8 years old (I'm almost 52 now), but I have never done it as a trade.  I am intimately familiar with the Kemnore / Whirlpool belt drive washers and there isn't much I can't do with them.  As I'm sure many of you know it is a distinctive machine from the back, at a distance, and I have been known to prowl the streets on trash day, looking for junked ones sitting at the curb.

Currently, my laundry room consists of

1959 American Thermatic (Huebesch) dryer, model number unknown.
1972 Kenmore (Whirlpool) 110.72993820 belt drive washer
1981 Kenmore (Whirlpool) 110.81375130 direct drive washer
1987 Kenmore (Whirlpool  110.87694510 gas dryer
1987 Kenmore (Whirlpool) 110.87093800 gas dryer

The '72 Kenmore had a crazy electronic timer system which quit functioning and I was unable to get parts for it, so I added a PLC (Progammable Logic Controller) and a touch screen.  Yes, I know I could have very easily changed the console and wiring, but I needed a little practice with PLC and HMI (Human-Machine Interface) programming.

The mind is like a parachute: Just because you lost yours doesn't mean you can borrow mine.

Offline JWWebster

• Technician
  • SublimeMasterJW
    • Buy me a beer through paypal
    • JW's Sublime Appliance Advice
Re: Introduction
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2011, 07:45:03 PM »