Author Topic: GE Hydrowave top load washer Belt replacement  (Read 2601 times)

Offline JWWebster

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Jan 2008
  • Posts: 8780
  • Country: us
  • SublimeMasterJW
    • Buy me a beer through paypal
    • JW's Sublime Appliance Advice
GE Hydrowave top load washer Belt replacement
« on: August 19, 2011, 01:52:48 PM »
Me and Larry been busy today  ;D :



Ge Hydrowave belt replacement
May the hinges of our friendship
        never grow rusty.

About the icons: The beer is tip link, if a tech saves ya some money buy em a 6 pack. The small green square=personal message. The green dot is a link to my web page on appliance repair and other general BS I love to post. The letter sends me email.
I love fan letters! LOL

Offline JWWebster

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Jan 2008
  • Posts: 8780
  • Country: us
  • SublimeMasterJW
    • Buy me a beer through paypal
    • JW's Sublime Appliance Advice
Re: GE Hydrowave top load washer Belt replacement
« Reply #1 on: August 19, 2011, 02:16:51 PM »
Video
May the hinges of our friendship
        never grow rusty.

About the icons: The beer is tip link, if a tech saves ya some money buy em a 6 pack. The small green square=personal message. The green dot is a link to my web page on appliance repair and other general BS I love to post. The letter sends me email.
I love fan letters! LOL

Online tgoods

  • Technician
    Moderator
  • Member Since: Jul 2010
  • Posts: 1443
  • Country: us
    • Buy me a beer through paypal
Re: GE Hydrowave top load washer Belt replacement
« Reply #2 on: August 19, 2011, 02:29:28 PM »
You guys must have a lot of time on your hands to be pulling a tub just to do a belt change. The trick to doing them in place is to attach the belt to the big pulley with a zip tie.  Cut the zip tie off after you work the belt around.  GE makes a tool to keep the belt on the motor but it's easy enough to do without it.  I might be mistaken but your video looks like it's stuck in spin mode.  A bad mode shifter might be why the belt broke.

Offline JWWebster

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Jan 2008
  • Posts: 8780
  • Country: us
  • SublimeMasterJW
    • Buy me a beer through paypal
    • JW's Sublime Appliance Advice
Re: GE Hydrowave top load washer Belt replacement
« Reply #3 on: August 19, 2011, 02:49:36 PM »
We put the washer through its paces. It would move just slightly side to side for 5 secs to engage then it would wash; that was wash mode in heavy duty cycle. It washed, then it pumped out then it spun out and went through the entire cycle to the end. The last spin it really takes off and spins. No leaks. Seemed to me to work ok. I don't see how the hell you could replace that belt without removing the tub. We caught hell putting it on with the tub out.  :tickedoff:
« Last Edit: August 19, 2011, 02:51:58 PM by JWWebster »
May the hinges of our friendship
        never grow rusty.

About the icons: The beer is tip link, if a tech saves ya some money buy em a 6 pack. The small green square=personal message. The green dot is a link to my web page on appliance repair and other general BS I love to post. The letter sends me email.
I love fan letters! LOL

 

Frigidiare Kenmore Front Load Washer Inner Tub & Tub Bearing Replacement.

Started by AJ

Replies: 5
Views: 6274
Last post March 03, 2008, 03:56:05 AM
by BrntToast
22003483 Maytag Top Load Washer Drive Belt

Started by AJ

Replies: 0
Views: 3812
Last post April 28, 2009, 04:06:09 PM
by AJ
GE front load washer, belt keeps coming off

Started by Mykl711

Replies: 13
Views: 10540
Last post December 14, 2009, 10:37:39 PM
by Mykl711
MAYTAG washer drive belt replacement

Started by chevyt

Replies: 1
Views: 1185
Last post November 05, 2009, 02:50:24 PM
by JWWebster
Front-Load Washer Door Lock Latch Replacement - part #131763202

Started by AJ

Replies: 0
Views: 2641
Last post March 22, 2011, 09:01:21 AM
by AJ
Kenmore 70 series? washer wont spin after belt replacement

Started by itsdatoneguy

Replies: 19
Views: 890
Last post February 06, 2014, 12:57:37 PM
by fairbank56