Author Topic: LG washer displaying OE code  (Read 25903 times)

Offline nick g

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Jul 2011
  • Posts: 3
LG washer displaying OE code
« on: July 08, 2011, 05:10:48 PM »
My washer has recently started to display an OE drain error code. I started by cleaning the drain pump filter. I started the machine over, and the machine displayed OE again. Next, I checked the drain hose and the clear trap connected to the drain hose. They were dirty, but water flowed through them. I tried the machine (after manually draining it) again and the OE code was still there. I then took off the hose connecting the pump/filter assembly to the clear trap to check that, and it was clear of any debris, as was the hose connecting the tub to the pump/filter. I took off the pump/filter from the washer and checked the pump to see if it was bad. I did this by taking the pump off and running 110 volts into it, and it spun nicely.

If the pump works and all of the drain hoses are clear, what else should I do?

Thanks!

Model WM2487HWM


Offline JWWebster

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Jan 2008
  • Posts: 8780
  • Country: us
  • SublimeMasterJW
    • Buy me a beer through paypal
    • JW's Sublime Appliance Advice
Re: LG washer displaying OE code
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2011, 05:37:53 PM »
Clothing traped between the tubs can cause the OE error also
May the hinges of our friendship
        never grow rusty.

About the icons: The beer is tip link, if a tech saves ya some money buy em a 6 pack. The small green square=personal message. The green dot is a link to my web page on appliance repair and other general BS I love to post. The letter sends me email.
I love fan letters! LOL

Offline nick g

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Jul 2011
  • Posts: 3
Re: LG washer displaying OE code
« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2011, 11:08:30 PM »
OK, so I checked between the tubs and I did not find anything. I also found that the small hose connected to the drain (that is accessible from the front of the washer to manually drain the water - the drain plug?) was filled with debris. I cleaned it out and hooked everything back up.

The water is draining now, but very slowly. I can feel the vibration from the pump trying to drain the water. The machine still times out and displays OE again.

Do you have any other suggestions? Could the pump be failing? Is there somewhere else that might have a clog?

Thanks!

Offline AJ

  • Technician
    Administrator
  • Member Since: Jun 2007
  • Posts: 9430
  • Country: us
    • ApplianceJunk.com - Appliance Repair
Re: LG washer displaying OE code
« Reply #3 on: July 09, 2011, 11:23:23 PM »
If the water pump is running and nothing is plugged you may need to replace the water pump. I would remove all hoses connected to the pump to check them. Also when you have the hose between the pump and tub removed feel up inside the tub were you removed the hose to see if anything is up in there plugging it.

Here is the pump for your washer.

LG 4681EA2001D Drain Pump Assembly, AP4440742

You could also remove the old one and see if the impeller is busted off the shaft.
Hope you find our site helpful.

Offline AJ

  • Technician
    Administrator
  • Member Since: Jun 2007
  • Posts: 9430
  • Country: us
    • ApplianceJunk.com - Appliance Repair
Re: LG washer displaying OE code
« Reply #4 on: July 09, 2011, 11:31:03 PM »
You removed the drain filter from the front of the washer and cleaned it out?

This is what it looks like.

LG 383EER2001A Filter and Cap Assembly, AP4440367

It's behind the little door located in the front of the washer at the bottom corner.
Hope you find our site helpful.

Offline JWWebster

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Jan 2008
  • Posts: 8780
  • Country: us
  • SublimeMasterJW
    • Buy me a beer through paypal
    • JW's Sublime Appliance Advice
Re: LG washer displaying OE code
« Reply #5 on: July 10, 2011, 10:30:29 AM »
Take the pump out and take it apart. probably strings and such in it.
May the hinges of our friendship
        never grow rusty.

About the icons: The beer is tip link, if a tech saves ya some money buy em a 6 pack. The small green square=personal message. The green dot is a link to my web page on appliance repair and other general BS I love to post. The letter sends me email.
I love fan letters! LOL

Offline niobrara

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Sep 2009
  • Posts: 1172
Re: LG washer displaying OE code
« Reply #6 on: July 10, 2011, 10:54:03 AM »
If the unit is timing out and your getting the code and the drain line is clear as AJ says replace the pump.

Offline nick g

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Jul 2011
  • Posts: 3
Re: LG washer displaying OE code
« Reply #7 on: July 12, 2011, 05:36:57 PM »
thanks, all.
I ordered a new pump and am waiting for it to arrive. I will definitely repost if this does not clear up the problem.

Offline AJ

  • Technician
    Administrator
  • Member Since: Jun 2007
  • Posts: 9430
  • Country: us
    • ApplianceJunk.com - Appliance Repair
Re: LG washer displaying OE code
« Reply #8 on: July 12, 2011, 05:39:52 PM »
thanks, all.
I ordered a new pump and am waiting for it to arrive. I will definitely repost if this does not clear up the problem.

Please do repost if it does not fix the problem, but also let us know if it does fix it. :)
Hope you find our site helpful.

Offline Johan

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Aug 2014
  • Posts: 4
Re: LG washer displaying OE code
« Reply #9 on: August 27, 2014, 02:11:13 PM »
I have exactly the same problem, and I have performed exactly the same trouble shooting tests.

This is what happens additionally for me, I hear the machine makes a noise, but nothing happens, i.e. it does not drain. If I then open the coin trap so that water is drained from there, eventually the pump starts to pump out water with good speed.

So, it is not clear to me that the pump should be the problem, since when it runs, it runs very nice..

Any other idea? If the original poster would post if a pump change indeed helped, it would be very appreciated.

Offline rockinrobin

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 296
  • Country: us
    • Buy me a beer through paypal
    • Ransom Mobile Appliance Repair Service
Re: LG washer displaying OE code
« Reply #10 on: August 27, 2014, 06:31:28 PM »
I have exactly the same problem, and I have performed exactly the same trouble shooting tests.

This is what happens additionally for me, I hear the machine makes a noise, but nothing happens, i.e. it does not drain. If I then open the coin trap so that water is drained from there, eventually the pump starts to pump out water with good speed.

So, it is not clear to me that the pump should be the problem, since when it runs, it runs very nice..

Any other idea? If the original poster would post if a pump change indeed helped, it would be very appreciated.
You may have something stuck inside the Tub to Pump Filter Hose, remove coin trap (aka Pump Filter) and use a flashlight to look inside the end of the filter housing.
If you have a Wet/Dry Shop Vac then you could insert the shop vac hose into the pump filter housing to see if it will remove any debris.

Offline john63

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Feb 2010
  • Posts: 496
Re: LG washer displaying OE code
« Reply #11 on: August 28, 2014, 12:03:38 AM »
Model/Serial Numbers?

Offline bubs

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Aug 2014
  • Posts: 2
Re: LG washer displaying OE code
« Reply #12 on: August 28, 2014, 03:55:46 PM »
I too have the same problems. Sometimes I can do the rinse cycle fine but seems every time I throw clothes in (even if just for rinse cycle) I get 0E. I drain out the water using the shopvac via main drain hose or use the vac on the little drain hose on the front and then it continues. The successful rinse cycles drains the water fast. Ours too makes that low hum noise the times it wants to drain but does not (around the 13-15 minute mark). Last week I was able to do 3 loads of wash but now it is giving 0E pretty consistent when clothes are in it.

WM2801HLA

Offline rockinrobin

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Sep 2011
  • Posts: 296
  • Country: us
    • Buy me a beer through paypal
    • Ransom Mobile Appliance Repair Service
Re: LG washer displaying OE code
« Reply #13 on: August 28, 2014, 08:06:48 PM »
I too have the same problems. Sometimes I can do the rinse cycle fine but seems every time I throw clothes in (even if just for rinse cycle) I get 0E. I drain out the water using the shopvac via main drain hose or use the vac on the little drain hose on the front and then it continues. The successful rinse cycles drains the water fast. Ours too makes that low hum noise the times it wants to drain but does not (around the 13-15 minute mark). Last week I was able to do 3 loads of wash but now it is giving 0E pretty consistent when clothes are in it.

WM2801HLA
Drain water then remove the Pump Filter (aka Coin Trap) and use the ShopVac to remove any debris from the Tub to Pump Hose (this hose attaches to other end of pump filter housing).
Let us know if it resolves your drain issue.
Maybe an LG Tech has the Service Repair Manual (P/N MFL30599128) to assist you with disassembly and troubleshooting.
« Last Edit: August 28, 2014, 08:24:48 PM by rockinrobin »

Offline AJ

  • Technician
    Administrator
  • Member Since: Jun 2007
  • Posts: 9430
  • Country: us
    • ApplianceJunk.com - Appliance Repair
Re: LG washer displaying OE code
« Reply #14 on: August 28, 2014, 09:21:39 PM »
Hope you find our site helpful.

 

Whirlpool Duet Washer - F-30 error code and clunking noise in detergent area.

Started by AJ

Replies: 3
Views: 14113
Last post November 15, 2009, 09:34:58 AM
by AJ
Kitchenaid Washer F11 Error Code

Started by TechnicianBrian

Replies: 0
Views: 5466
Last post March 23, 2008, 07:06:27 AM
by TechnicianBrian
Maytag Washer F01 Error Code

Started by TechnicianBrian

Replies: 0
Views: 7977
Last post June 17, 2008, 07:13:27 AM
by TechnicianBrian
LG Front Load Washer LE Error code

Started by TechnicianBrian

Replies: 43
Views: 103011
Last post March 12, 2012, 08:01:50 AM
by roodog
F-20 Code on my front loading washer

Started by Benita

Replies: 3
Views: 6124
Last post September 18, 2008, 10:41:24 PM
by Repair-man
Whirlpool Duet Washer F5 Error Code

Started by TechnicianBrian

Replies: 2
Views: 9858
Last post October 05, 2008, 08:39:47 PM
by TechnicianBrian