Author Topic: Kenmore Electric Range  (Read 2275 times)

Offline Major

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: May 2010
  • Posts: 60
  • Country: ca
Kenmore Electric Range
« on: May 01, 2011, 04:08:38 AM »
Hi: I am trying to get info on this stove. The 2 large burners, which are located in the front, only work on max heat. I replaced one switch with no change in the problem. I know 970 means Frigidaire but I can't seem to look up any service manuals in that section any more. I am suspecting it is the burners them self.  Any thoughts on this and if so what kind of cost am I looking at.
Thanks for the assistance and Have a great weekend

Major

Model 970.606020

Offline jumptrout51

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Nov 2007
  • Posts: 1879
  • Country: us
    • Buy me a beer through paypal
Re: Kenmore Electric Range
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2011, 06:34:43 AM »
The heating elements only do what they are instructed to do.
The switches make,break and regulate.
The large elements have larger amperage switches.
Make sure you have the correct switches and they are wired correctly.
Take a Kid fishing.

Offline JWWebster

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Jan 2008
  • Posts: 8780
  • Country: us
  • SublimeMasterJW
    • Buy me a beer through paypal
    • JW's Sublime Appliance Advice
Re: Kenmore Electric Range
« Reply #2 on: May 01, 2011, 11:18:43 AM »
The newer replacement parts don't always have terminals in the same spot as the OEM so if you don't pay attention to how it goes then you will ruin multiple switches when 2 or more are turned on at the same time. You would hear a pop though.
May the hinges of our friendship
        never grow rusty.

About the icons: The beer is tip link, if a tech saves ya some money buy em a 6 pack. The small green square=personal message. The green dot is a link to my web page on appliance repair and other general BS I love to post. The letter sends me email.
I love fan letters! LOL

Offline Major

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: May 2010
  • Posts: 60
  • Country: ca
Re: Kenmore Electric Range
« Reply #3 on: May 01, 2011, 04:45:52 PM »
Thanks for the info guys.
I will take a look at the switch thing again.
I was curious about the burners because of the temp sensor attached to the burner. Didn't know if it may be faulty or not.
Thanks
Have  great day

Offline RegUS_PatOff

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Dec 2007
  • Posts: 1410
  • Country: us
Re: Kenmore Electric Range
« Reply #4 on: May 05, 2011, 08:22:24 AM »
After leaving this Earth, "Do you want the smoking or non-smoking section?"

 

Kenmore Electric Range-No Bake or Broil

Started by Gobbyparts

Replies: 10
Views: 7087
Last post February 23, 2009, 04:56:02 PM
by RegUS_PatOff
Kenmore Electric Kitchen Range Burner Overheat

Started by hsu201

Replies: 9
Views: 8524
Last post July 08, 2009, 05:41:52 PM
by jumptrout51
Kenmore Electric Range

Started by SearsSux

Replies: 6
Views: 2894
Last post October 18, 2009, 06:31:02 PM
by JWWebster
Sears Kenmore Smooth Top Electric Range - C880. Zapping (arcing?) sound at knob

Started by diyguy1000

Replies: 7
Views: 6249
Last post January 26, 2010, 04:02:19 PM
by JWWebster
Kenmore Electric Range - Oven Elements?

Started by gp7556

Replies: 2
Views: 2367
Last post March 15, 2010, 12:02:42 AM
by bakeray
1988 Kenmore Electric Downdraft Range

Started by Reduviidae

Replies: 3
Views: 3059
Last post February 15, 2010, 06:30:43 PM
by jumptrout51