Author Topic: LG refrigerator model LBN2251#** problems  (Read 3146 times)

Offline herman

• VIP Member
LG refrigerator model LBN2251#** problems
« on: April 14, 2011, 06:18:01 PM »
I hope that someone can either help me or perhaps refer me to a technical group such as this one specializing in refrigerators. This is a bottom freezer unit that we got four years
ago. The refrigerator section is running between 40 and about 46 degrees and the freezer is at 42.

We cleaned all the dust out of the back and bottom and there doesn't seem to be any improvement. I am an electronics technician however I don't know too much about refrigerators except that they are expensive to have fixed. I was hoping that someone might be able to point me in the right direction to troubleshoot this thing.

I did find something online that mentioned checking the defrost heater in the freezer
section. The heater looked good. It then mentioned to check the fuse that is wire tied to the defrost coil for continuity. Well there appears to be two fuses, or perhaps they are sensors? One is connected on a pair of orange wires and the other connected with a brown and red. The orange pair shows continuity but the other pair is open. Of course one device may be a thermistor too or it could be a NO while the other could be NC. My real problem is that I really don't understand enough about the theory of operation. The unit is
only four years old.

I now have a service manual that someone sent me but it is not very well written and a bit confusing.  We're going to try to run through some of the diagnostics tomorrow. I should mention that there was a slight amount of ice on the freezer coil only in the area of
what looks like those two thermal devices. I don't think  that the ice was enough