Author Topic: Kenmore Flat Top Range Burner Inop  (Read 3471 times)

Offline J3243

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Dec 2010
  • Posts: 3
Kenmore Flat Top Range Burner Inop
« on: December 03, 2010, 02:09:27 PM »
Front left 9" (3000W) burner on Kenmore range not working, I do have 240 volts on terminals with the element disconnected and burner control set to on.  Not sure how to test element terminals for continuity or ohm readings.  Tried to remove other element to check but terminals felt like they might pull off.  If I have voltage should a replacement element solve the problem?  Any help is greatly appreciated.

Model 79096429408

Offline AJ

  • Technician
    Administrator
  • Member Since: Jun 2007
  • Posts: 9428
  • Country: us
    • ApplianceJunk.com - Appliance Repair
Re: Kenmore Flat Top Range Burner Inop
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2010, 02:12:54 PM »
If you have voltage to the element the element is bad and needs to be replaced, part # 318198817

If you do not have voltage to the element then replace the burner switch, part # 316436000
Hope you find our site helpful.

Offline J3243

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Dec 2010
  • Posts: 3
Re: Kenmore Flat Top Range Burner Inop
« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2010, 02:30:20 PM »
Thanks for the quick reply, hoping that is what you would say, I wanted to buy another element but was hesitant because I couldn't find info on how to check it out.  Thanks again, I appreciate the help!

Offline AJ

  • Technician
    Administrator
  • Member Since: Jun 2007
  • Posts: 9428
  • Country: us
    • ApplianceJunk.com - Appliance Repair
Re: Kenmore Flat Top Range Burner Inop
« Reply #3 on: December 03, 2010, 02:37:46 PM »
I would guess if you check a good element with your ohm meter it would read around 30-40 ohms. If the element is bad it will be open and you won't get any reading on your meter.
Hope you find our site helpful.

Offline JWWebster

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Jan 2008
  • Posts: 8780
  • Country: us
  • SublimeMasterJW
    • Buy me a beer through paypal
    • JW's Sublime Appliance Advice
Re: Kenmore Flat Top Range Burner Inop
« Reply #4 on: December 03, 2010, 02:38:12 PM »
May the hinges of our friendship
        never grow rusty.

About the icons: The beer is tip link, if a tech saves ya some money buy em a 6 pack. The small green square=personal message. The green dot is a link to my web page on appliance repair and other general BS I love to post. The letter sends me email.
I love fan letters! LOL

Offline J3243

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Dec 2010
  • Posts: 3
Re: Kenmore Flat Top Range Burner Inop
« Reply #5 on: December 15, 2010, 11:28:54 AM »
Replaced element on range, 240 volts at terminals but no heat to burner element.  Reconnected the same way I took off, no wiring diagram with replacement element.   Any help is appreciated.

Offline viking351

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Jan 2009
  • Posts: 152
  • Country: us
Re: Kenmore Flat Top Range Burner Inop
« Reply #6 on: December 17, 2010, 11:47:42 AM »
you may want to change the receptacle. if its a plug in burner vs a hard wired you may not be getting good contact.

 

Kenmore Electric Kitchen Range Burner Overheat

Started by hsu201

Replies: 9
Views: 8472
Last post July 08, 2009, 05:41:52 PM
by jumptrout51
Whirlpool Range - Top Burner Not Working

Started by AJ

Replies: 0
Views: 4051
Last post December 28, 2007, 12:21:08 AM
by AJ
Need help with opening range top for gas stove to replace burner valve.

Started by bobafett13

Replies: 3
Views: 3701
Last post January 24, 2008, 10:57:06 AM
by JWWebster
Kenmore Range Overheating

Started by TechnicianBrian

Replies: 0
Views: 3336
Last post March 20, 2008, 11:13:21 PM
by TechnicianBrian
Kitchenaid Range LR Burner Inoperative

Started by TechnicianBrian

Replies: 0
Views: 1998
Last post April 17, 2008, 07:39:22 AM
by TechnicianBrian
Kenmore Range codes

Started by PPGBODYMAN

Replies: 7
Views: 7786
Last post September 13, 2008, 11:38:49 PM
by whirlpooltech