Author Topic: GE Top-load HE Washer pauses indefinitely on Fill  (Read 3410 times)

Offline GKH

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Nov 2010
  • Posts: 3
GE Top-load HE Washer pauses indefinitely on Fill
« on: November 02, 2010, 09:30:59 AM »
My 1 1/2 year old washer will (intermittently) not cycle beyond fill without help.  Every few loads, I will come back to it, expecting the cycle to be done, only to find it has filled, stopped, and the Fill indicator light is steadily blinking. If I press Start/Pause at that point, the cycle will proceed and finish normally. This is happening more frequently and is not a problem listed in the owner's guide under Troubleshooting. Any suggestions?

Model WHRE5550K1WW

Offline JWWebster

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Jan 2008
  • Posts: 8780
  • Country: us
  • SublimeMasterJW
    • Buy me a beer through paypal
    • JW's Sublime Appliance Advice
Re: GE Top-load HE Washer pauses indefinitely on Fill
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2010, 09:36:38 AM »
Are you using the correct amount of the HE type low suds detergent?
May the hinges of our friendship
        never grow rusty.

About the icons: The beer is tip link, if a tech saves ya some money buy em a 6 pack. The small green square=personal message. The green dot is a link to my web page on appliance repair and other general BS I love to post. The letter sends me email.
I love fan letters! LOL

Offline GKH

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Nov 2010
  • Posts: 3
Re: GE Top-load HE Washer pauses indefinitely on Fill
« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2010, 11:49:53 AM »
I use Tide HE and fill the cap to line 1 or 2 line depending on the size of the load.

Offline JWWebster

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Jan 2008
  • Posts: 8780
  • Country: us
  • SublimeMasterJW
    • Buy me a beer through paypal
    • JW's Sublime Appliance Advice
Re: GE Top-load HE Washer pauses indefinitely on Fill
« Reply #3 on: November 02, 2010, 02:04:13 PM »
HE: (2) Tablespoons Per Washload right?
May the hinges of our friendship
        never grow rusty.

About the icons: The beer is tip link, if a tech saves ya some money buy em a 6 pack. The small green square=personal message. The green dot is a link to my web page on appliance repair and other general BS I love to post. The letter sends me email.
I love fan letters! LOL

Offline ryan111

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Aug 2010
  • Posts: 196
    • Appliance-repair-it.com
Re: GE Top-load HE Washer pauses indefinitely on Fill
« Reply #4 on: November 03, 2010, 05:47:24 PM »
Make sure the water isnít siphoning out. If the water level fails to reach a certain level within 40 minutes the control will turn the water valves off and go into a pause mode. If the water is siphoning out the water can run forever without filling the tub therefore this will happen.

Things that can cause a siphoning condition

1.   The drainpipe to your house may be too low and you either need to extend the pipe up above the top of the tub or run the drain hose from your washer up high.

2.   Someone may have taped the drain hose from the washer to the drainpipe to your house to stop the water from backing up. To fix this either clean out the drainpipe to your house and remove the tape or install a siphon break, part number 201112.  

3.   If the drain hose from your washer is pushed down the drainpipe too far, this will also cause the same problem. To fix it just pull it out to within about 6 inches of the end of the drainpipe.

If that isnít the caseÖIf you are using the precise fill mode try using the manual fill and if you are using the manual fill try using the precise fill mode. See if doing so makes a difference.

Also make sure you have the lid closed during fill.  


http://www.appliance-repair-it.com/GE-hydrowave.html
« Last Edit: November 03, 2010, 05:56:12 PM by ryan111 »
http://www.appliance-repair-it.com/
Where everyone can repair it!

Offline GKH

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Nov 2010
  • Posts: 3
Re: GE Top-load HE Washer pauses indefinitely on Fill
« Reply #5 on: November 04, 2010, 08:55:07 PM »
The drain from the washer does go into the drainpipe above the level of the tub.
We are the first owners of both the house (new construction) and the washer. For the past 17 months it has worked fine.
The hose WAS pushed about 8 inches into the drainpipe, so I backed it out a few inches.
Prior to this, the only non-tech advice I got was "these things are all computerized now, so unplug it and then plug it back in." So far no problems with the few loads I've done since. Time will tell!
Thanks for the reply.

 

GE Front Load Washer Pauses

Started by ejbrandt

Replies: 5
Views: 4233
Last post June 02, 2009, 08:31:09 PM
by ejbrandt
Desperately seeking advice! Load sensing washer won't fill.

Started by midwest

Replies: 12
Views: 6594
Last post June 25, 2012, 01:03:43 PM
by AJ
Frigidaire Front Load washer making noise.

Started by curtis

Replies: 3
Views: 7634
Last post July 05, 2007, 09:25:04 PM
by AJ
frigidaire front load washer

Started by Mikki

Replies: 6
Views: 5959
Last post October 17, 2007, 04:42:52 PM
by Mikki
What is the best top load washer for under $600?

Started by Larry B.

Replies: 1
Views: 2755
Last post November 12, 2007, 08:48:21 PM
by rickgburton
Video: Whirlpool Duet Front Load Washer Water Pump Clean Out.

Started by AJ

Replies: 0
Views: 6796
Last post November 28, 2007, 09:58:47 PM
by AJ