Author Topic: Kenmore range shows f15 error code  (Read 8178 times)

Offline desertfox

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Mar 2008
  • Posts: 3
Kenmore range shows f15 error code
« on: October 31, 2010, 11:45:54 PM »
Kenmore range suddenly started flashing f15 error code. With Thanksgiving just around the corner, i need help with this repair. Thanks.

Model 790.79423601

Offline prime311

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 26
Re: Kenmore range shows f15 error code
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2010, 11:58:30 PM »
Do you have the owners manual that came with it?  Should have a wiring diagram in it.  That should tell you what the error code means.  I think an F15 is a fatal failure of the Electronic Oven Control board.  Have you tried just hitting the cancel button? Or unplugging the oven for a minute and plugging it back in?

Offline prime311

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 26
Re: Kenmore range shows f15 error code
« Reply #2 on: November 01, 2010, 12:13:36 AM »
I did find a copy of the service control sheet online.  Not sure if I can post the link here.  I don't see an F15 code listed, so maybe someone with more experience knows for sure what it is.  You still can try hitting Stop or unplugging it for a minute though to see if its a simple fix. 

Offline Repair-man

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Feb 2008
  • Posts: 3020
  • Country: us
  • The Virtual Repairman
    • The Virtual Repairmans Appliance Help
Re: Kenmore range shows f15 error code
« Reply #3 on: November 01, 2010, 04:52:19 AM »
How are you certain you found the "service sheet" since the code is not listed?


The F-15 code means the EOC (oven Control) did not pass its self-check process. The service manual recommends replacing the oven control board.
"It's only expensive if someone else fixes it for you" -
The Virtual Repairman   www.repair2000.com

Offline desertfox

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Mar 2008
  • Posts: 3
Re: Kenmore range shows f15 error code
« Reply #4 on: November 01, 2010, 07:56:33 AM »
Thanks for the quick reply. Found the sevice sheet behind range. Instructions call for checking harness connectors between power supply board and electronic oven control. If harness and connections are good replace power board.  If power board is good replace EOC.  I have been unable to find a supply source to buy the parts. Sears parts direct does not show the control board. Any suggestions?

Offline AJ

  • Technician
    Administrator
  • Member Since: Jun 2007
  • Posts: 9378
  • Country: us
    • ApplianceJunk.com - Appliance Repair
Re: Kenmore range shows f15 error code
« Reply #5 on: November 01, 2010, 11:48:55 AM »
Hope you find our site helpful.

Offline desertfox

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Mar 2008
  • Posts: 3
Re: Kenmore range shows f15 error code
« Reply #6 on: November 01, 2010, 06:52:07 PM »
Thanks for the info. Am ordering part.  O0

Offline RegUS_PatOff

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Dec 2007
  • Posts: 1410
  • Country: us
Re: Kenmore range shows f15 error code
« Reply #7 on: November 02, 2010, 03:55:23 AM »
How are you certain you found the "service sheet" since the code is not listed?


790.79423601 Tech Data

no mention of F15

« Last Edit: November 02, 2010, 03:59:06 AM by RegUS_PatOff »
After leaving this Earth, "Do you want the smoking or non-smoking section?"

Offline Repair-man

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Feb 2008
  • Posts: 3020
  • Country: us
  • The Virtual Repairman
    • The Virtual Repairmans Appliance Help
Re: Kenmore range shows f15 error code
« Reply #8 on: November 02, 2010, 06:55:35 AM »
Reg;

That appears to be a bad link

I am quoting from the Frigidaire electronic slide-in range manual which indeed does mention the F15 code.
"It's only expensive if someone else fixes it for you" -
The Virtual Repairman   www.repair2000.com

Offline AJ

  • Technician
    Administrator
  • Member Since: Jun 2007
  • Posts: 9378
  • Country: us
    • ApplianceJunk.com - Appliance Repair
Re: Kenmore range shows f15 error code
« Reply #9 on: November 02, 2010, 07:23:23 AM »
I tried to repair the link, but being a ftp link it ends up putting http:// in front of it and then the link no longer works.

Here is the link, but you will have to copy and paste it yourself.

Code: [Select]
ftp://ftp.electrolux-na.com/ProdInfo_PDF/Springfield/316441718en.pdf
Hope you find our site helpful.

Offline RegUS_PatOff

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Dec 2007
  • Posts: 1410
  • Country: us
Re: Kenmore range shows f15 error code
« Reply #10 on: November 02, 2010, 10:11:58 AM »
« Last Edit: November 02, 2010, 10:13:33 AM by RegUS_PatOff »
After leaving this Earth, "Do you want the smoking or non-smoking section?"

Offline AJ

  • Technician
    Administrator
  • Member Since: Jun 2007
  • Posts: 9378
  • Country: us
    • ApplianceJunk.com - Appliance Repair
Re: Kenmore range shows f15 error code
« Reply #11 on: November 02, 2010, 03:46:02 PM »
Cool, learned something new today.  O0
Hope you find our site helpful.

Offline prime311

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 26
Re: Kenmore range shows f15 error code
« Reply #12 on: November 03, 2010, 11:25:25 AM »
After doing some research on that link I noticed this. 

Part number: p/n 316441718 Rev B (0609)

This is the correct part number(316441718) for this data sheet.

It says "Gas Range with ES 575 Electronic Oven Control". 

I found a Rev A of the data sheet here that does have the F15 code listed.




Offline prime311

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Sep 2010
  • Posts: 26
Re: Kenmore range shows f15 error code
« Reply #13 on: November 03, 2010, 11:33:09 AM »
Just to clarify.  The 2nd link isnt the same p/n for Desertfox model.  Its a Rev A of a data sheet for the EOC ES 575.

 

Kenmore Electric range model# 790.99013100 F7 Error code

Started by Washaman

Replies: 1
Views: 1301
Last post August 11, 2013, 11:14:40 AM
by haroldsappliance
Whirlpool Polara Range Error Code

Started by TechnicianBrian

Replies: 5
Views: 8592
Last post December 29, 2008, 09:03:25 PM
by TechnicianBrian
Dacor Range F1 Error Code

Started by TechnicianBrian

Replies: 0
Views: 17754
Last post November 09, 2008, 07:34:10 AM
by TechnicianBrian
Frigidaire gas range error code F10

Started by max190

Replies: 4
Views: 9624
Last post February 06, 2009, 02:52:59 PM
by max190
F9 error code on maytag5780 gas range

Started by kdmurphy44

Replies: 1
Views: 2154
Last post February 07, 2009, 08:48:53 PM
by Repair-man
Kenmore (GE) Elite Double Oven 911 4901 3009 Error Code

Started by bizpm1

Replies: 8
Views: 2647
Last post July 08, 2012, 07:15:42 AM
by whjeffs