Free Service - Appliance Repair Help & Troubleshooting

Author Topic: Touch Screen error on G2Microven  (Read 3580 times)

Offline hockeyham

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Jul 2010
  • Posts: 2
Touch Screen error on G2Microven
« on: July 26, 2010, 11:29:30 PM »
Hi:

New to board, did thorough search but did not find any results for this model number Microwave/Range oven we just acquired this past weekend.

The touchscreen on the Whirlpool G2Microven does not work. When I plug in the the Microven, the touchpad beeps "TOUCH" in morse code (I'm a ham op, and recognized the CW on bootup) and a message board appears on the display indicating "TOUCH ERROR" with the following info:

Y High Pass 255 255
Y HiLo Pass 252 3
Y Low Pass 1 0

X High Fail 255 04
X HiLo Pass 255 0
X Low Fail 236 0

Image of above error (hopefully) attached.

Oven was manufactured in April, 2006. We acquired it along with a Whirlpool fridge, dishwasher, and stove. So far this is only hiccup.

Ive checked all known fuses and none look blown.

One other note is that before I removed the panel where the touchpad was and inspected the boards, I was getting "FAIL" not only on X High and X Low but also Y High and Y Low with both X HiLo and Y HiLo passing.

Any advise is appreciated.

Model GH6177XPS3

Offline Bonita

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: May 2016
  • Posts: 2
Re: Touch Screen error on G2Microven
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2016, 04:23:58 PM »
I too, am experiencing almost the same codes on my Kenmore over the oven microwave.  I tried pulling out the control panel, dusting and reattaching the connections, but the same codes came back. 

How did you solve your problem?


Offline hockeyham

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Jul 2010
  • Posts: 2
Re: Touch Screen error on G2Microven
« Reply #2 on: May 30, 2016, 04:49:20 PM »
Sadly I never got an answer and wound up buying a new one.

If you do get an answer I'd be interested in knowing as I still have it in my basement.

Offline Bonita

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: May 2016
  • Posts: 2
Re: Touch Screen error on G2Microven
« Reply #3 on: July 22, 2016, 07:13:27 AM »
Have you seen the videos showing how to get behind the touch screen, dust off the board, disconnect and then reconnect the wires?

We pulled out the touch screen, disconnected and reconnected some wires AGAIN.  The touch screen came back to life for a while, but is back to being tempermental.  The "one minute" button works, so the microwave is operational; as does "Popcorn" (which we don't use).  We just cannot navigate to "Melt" or "Defrost." 

As I really do like the variations offered with this microwave oven, I am considering purchasing a control board for $207 to see if that will fix it.  At one point, the touch screen was available for $600, which is prohibitive. 

I wish I had better news for you.  I do think that time is working against us as the replacement parts are getting phased out.


 

7" Touch Screen Panel/Module for Late Model Jenn Built-ins (Scrap For Grab)

Started by rmbraught

Replies: 2
Views: 2874
Last post June 18, 2010, 04:05:10 PM
by rmbraught
Whirlpool Microwave F2Q1 Error Code

Started by TechnicianBrian

Replies: 0
Views: 4008
Last post April 15, 2008, 09:57:53 PM
by TechnicianBrian
Whirlpool Polara Range Error Code

Started by TechnicianBrian

Replies: 5
Views: 12083
Last post December 29, 2008, 09:03:25 PM
by TechnicianBrian
Whirlpool Oven E1 F2 Error

Started by TechnicianBrian

Replies: 0
Views: 20077
Last post July 11, 2008, 07:59:01 AM
by TechnicianBrian
Kitchenaid Range F1 E6 Error

Started by TechnicianBrian

Replies: 0
Views: 4747
Last post August 19, 2008, 06:46:27 AM
by TechnicianBrian
Whirlpool Microwave F2Q1 Error Message

Started by TechnicianBrian

Replies: 0
Views: 3837
Last post September 17, 2008, 07:24:01 AM
by TechnicianBrian