Author Topic: Lid Switch error  (Read 5100 times)

Offline patron

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Mar 2008
  • Posts: 7
Lid Switch error
« on: March 05, 2008, 02:20:31 PM »
I have an LG in my shop that gives me a lid switch error and will not agitate nor spin. It simply shuts off and an led with the lable lid switch flash and beeps.

The unique thing however is this machine does not have a lid switch. I have removed the lid, the top of the machine etc. I can't find any wiring connected to the lid; nor any magnetic strips or anything that would relate to a lid switch. The only thing this lid does have is two springs attached.

Anybody run across this problem before? I also need to see a manual for this machine.

Thank

Patron

Offline JWWebster

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Jan 2008
  • Posts: 8780
  • Country: us
  • SublimeMasterJW
    • Buy me a beer through paypal
    • JW's Sublime Appliance Advice
Re: Lid Switch error
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2008, 03:58:38 PM »
this sounds like another wax motor problem. The wax motor locks the lid. when it fails it bleeds pure 120 volts into the board and damages the r11 resister. check out this link:
http://appliancejunk.com/forums/index.php?topic=445.0
and use the search forums box to the left for furthur info. Lots of discussions about this problem can be found by searching our forum.
May the hinges of our friendship
        never grow rusty.

About the icons: The beer is tip link, if a tech saves ya some money buy em a 6 pack. The small green square=personal message. The green dot is a link to my web page on appliance repair and other general BS I love to post. The letter sends me email.
I love fan letters! LOL

Offline RegUS_PatOff

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Dec 2007
  • Posts: 1410
  • Country: us
Re: Lid Switch error
« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2008, 04:09:02 PM »
could you check that model number again ?
After leaving this Earth, "Do you want the smoking or non-smoking section?"

Offline BrntToast

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Nov 2007
  • Posts: 388
  • Mayday Appliance Service
    • frigidaire service blog
Re: Lid Switch error
« Reply #3 on: March 05, 2008, 08:49:50 PM »
there is a lid switch on the top load LGs, its a magnetic reed switch in the control panel, the magnet is in the lid, its almost dead center  a strong pocket magnet pick up tool is plenty strong enough to active the switch
Mayday Appliance Service
Winnipeg Manitoba Canada


The only stupid question is the one not asked

Offline patron

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Mar 2008
  • Posts: 7
Re: Lid Switch error
« Reply #4 on: March 07, 2008, 02:55:19 PM »
Correction on model #

WF-T1341TP

Also re-checked the lid; I can't see anything switch, magnetic or anything that leads me to believe it has a switch. The lid is almost see through; nothing is there.

Patron

Offline RegUS_PatOff

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Dec 2007
  • Posts: 1410
  • Country: us
Re: Lid Switch error
« Reply #5 on: March 07, 2008, 03:33:22 PM »
that still doesn't look like an LG model number...

After leaving this Earth, "Do you want the smoking or non-smoking section?"

Offline Repair-man

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Feb 2008
  • Posts: 3020
  • Country: us
  • The Virtual Repairman
    • The Virtual Repairmans Appliance Help
Re: Lid Switch error
« Reply #6 on: March 08, 2008, 06:39:30 AM »
I found a similar model breakdown, and the reed switch assembly is shown at the rear of the cabinet (ref to A170). See the parts blowup here.
"It's only expensive if someone else fixes it for you" -
The Virtual Repairman   www.repair2000.com

Offline patron

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Mar 2008
  • Posts: 7
Re: Lid Switch error
« Reply #7 on: March 08, 2008, 02:29:49 PM »
Your right on that switch. Most machines I've seen have that particular switch; but for some reason this one doesn't and it doesn't have wiring going to a switch as if it had been removed previously.

Model #
The model # is right this time. This is an LG built in Mexico. Unfortunately, I've found little or no help through LG in Mexico.

Offline jomi

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Mar 2008
  • Posts: 11
Re: Lid Switch error
« Reply #8 on: March 08, 2008, 09:57:45 PM »
If the error display "dE" , pls check safety switch below top .

Offline patron

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Mar 2008
  • Posts: 7
Re: Lid Switch error
« Reply #9 on: March 12, 2008, 02:49:25 PM »
It doesn't show any other errors in the display. Below the display it shows four or so possible errors. For example fill error, spin error, lid error; the other I don't remember.

I get a lid error. It sure would be nice to find a manual on this machine. I've had no luck with that either.

donate
$1, $2, $5, $10, $20, $50
 

Arghh *&$#@! Please lend a hand. LG WD-3274RHD door switch error "dE" from hell

Started by ThunderHammer

Replies: 9
Views: 1400
Last post September 10, 2012, 06:32:22 PM
by AJ
Whirlpool electronic error code

Started by roxgirl

Replies: 1
Views: 5094
Last post July 25, 2007, 08:15:36 PM
by AJ
Whirlpool Duet Sport Error f-01

Started by Ology

Replies: 2
Views: 7153
Last post March 10, 2008, 05:20:36 PM
by Repair-man
Whirlpool Duet Washer - F-30 error code and clunking noise in detergent area.

Started by AJ

Replies: 3
Views: 13141
Last post November 15, 2009, 09:34:58 AM
by AJ
Kitchenaid Washer F11 Error Code

Started by TechnicianBrian

Replies: 0
Views: 4988
Last post March 23, 2008, 07:06:27 AM
by TechnicianBrian
6th sense AWM 8143 6kg Error F09 - here's a challenge for you!

Started by Neeky

Replies: 31
Views: 10739
Last post April 08, 2008, 10:15:35 PM
by Neeky