Author Topic: GE Profile Can A Supco 3-in-1 be used on Newer Refrigerators?  (Read 4920 times)

Offline iceman

  • Technician
  • Member Since: May 2009
  • Posts: 39
  • Country: us
GE Profile Can A Supco 3-in-1 be used on Newer Refrigerators?
« on: November 24, 2009, 12:11:44 PM »
I was just wondering if a Supco 3-in-1 start kit can be used on these newer refrigerators with all the bells and whistles on them or do I have to use a specific relay and overload for them?

Offline jumptrout51

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Nov 2007
  • Posts: 1879
  • Country: us
    • Buy me a beer through paypal
Re: Can A Supco 3-in-1 be used on Newer Refrigerators?
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2009, 03:41:49 PM »
Yes they will start and run the new refrigerators.
Take a Kid fishing.

Offline iceman

  • Technician
  • Member Since: May 2009
  • Posts: 39
  • Country: us
Re: Can A Supco 3-in-1 be used on Newer Refrigerators?
« Reply #2 on: November 24, 2009, 06:43:46 PM »
Thanks. I thought it could but wasn't sure if it would be a good idea to keep it hooked up permanently. Thanks for the help.

Offline jumptrout51

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Nov 2007
  • Posts: 1879
  • Country: us
    • Buy me a beer through paypal
Re: Can A Supco 3-in-1 be used on Newer Refrigerators?
« Reply #3 on: November 24, 2009, 08:11:45 PM »
The OEM relay is best. However,the Hard Start relay works fine.
Take a Kid fishing.

Offline JWWebster

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Jan 2008
  • Posts: 8781
  • Country: us
  • SublimeMasterJW
    • Buy me a beer through paypal
    • JW's Sublime Appliance Advice
Re: Can A Supco 3-in-1 be used on Newer Refrigerators?
« Reply #4 on: November 24, 2009, 09:48:38 PM »
Some of them newer compressors are DC volt ain't they?
May the hinges of our friendship
        never grow rusty.

About the icons: The beer is tip link, if a tech saves ya some money buy em a 6 pack. The small green square=personal message. The green dot is a link to my web page on appliance repair and other general BS I love to post. The letter sends me email.
I love fan letters! LOL

Offline niobrara

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Sep 2009
  • Posts: 1181
Re: Can A Supco 3-in-1 be used on Newer Refrigerators?
« Reply #5 on: November 24, 2009, 10:51:27 PM »
Yes and as much as I like to use the hard starts I am having to double check the compressors before I hook the relays up.And the omh readings really are different.

Offline iceman

  • Technician
  • Member Since: May 2009
  • Posts: 39
  • Country: us
Re: Can A Supco 3-in-1 be used on Newer Refrigerators?
« Reply #6 on: November 25, 2009, 07:53:02 AM »
I haven't come across a DC compressor yet. How do you tell if it is DC and how does the pot ring out differently?

Offline JWWebster

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Jan 2008
  • Posts: 8781
  • Country: us
  • SublimeMasterJW
    • Buy me a beer through paypal
    • JW's Sublime Appliance Advice
Re: Can A Supco 3-in-1 be used on Newer Refrigerators?
« Reply #7 on: November 25, 2009, 01:26:48 PM »
I hear the dc compressor have 2 pins instead of 3. The speed of the motor inside the compressor is varried to save energy. The brain speeds up the compressor or slows it down according to demand. I might be wrong. Have been before
May the hinges of our friendship
        never grow rusty.

About the icons: The beer is tip link, if a tech saves ya some money buy em a 6 pack. The small green square=personal message. The green dot is a link to my web page on appliance repair and other general BS I love to post. The letter sends me email.
I love fan letters! LOL

Offline Jake

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Apr 2008
  • Posts: 42
    • Appliance Blog
Re: Can A Supco 3-in-1 be used on Newer Refrigerators?
« Reply #8 on: November 25, 2009, 01:49:26 PM »
Yes, some techs. like them, some don't.

When i first started doing appliance repair back in 1987, i used to love using them, it seemed to solve all the compressor start and run issues, but as they have changed the compressor design in the early 90's , i saw that the 3 in 1 ones that i was putting on would start failing on some compressors, so from then on, i quit using them all together, except for a emergency, till the original relay/overload part I ordered arrived.

So its basically your call.

Jake
ApplianceBlog.com/mainforums

Appliance Repair School 1987-1988
Star Appliance Tech. 2 yrs. 1988-1990
Wards Appliance Tech. 11 yrs. 1990-2001
Sears Appliance Tech. 4 yrs. 2001-Oct. 2005
Jake's Appliance Repair Nov. 2005-present

Offline JWWebster

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Jan 2008
  • Posts: 8781
  • Country: us
  • SublimeMasterJW
    • Buy me a beer through paypal
    • JW's Sublime Appliance Advice
Re: Can A Supco 3-in-1 be used on Newer Refrigerators?
« Reply #9 on: November 25, 2009, 01:55:54 PM »
I keep a HS in my tools connected to a suicide cord. It makes it east to tell quickly if the compressor has a problem or I have to look further. I try to get the original relay if I can. Sometimes that is not possible so the HS is a great product.
May the hinges of our friendship
        never grow rusty.

About the icons: The beer is tip link, if a tech saves ya some money buy em a 6 pack. The small green square=personal message. The green dot is a link to my web page on appliance repair and other general BS I love to post. The letter sends me email.
I love fan letters! LOL

Offline MajorApp

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Feb 2008
  • Posts: 555
  • Country: us
Re: Can A Supco 3-in-1 be used on Newer Refrigerators?
« Reply #10 on: November 25, 2009, 10:06:38 PM »
I like the universal start, relay, overload that pushes on just like the original.

Offline krazytech

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Sep 2007
  • Posts: 705
  • Country: us
    • Buy me a beer through paypal
Re: Can A Supco 3-in-1 be used on Newer Refrigerators?
« Reply #11 on: November 26, 2009, 05:11:25 PM »
First check to see if you have a warranty. a 3n1 will void any warranty you have on any the compressor... If it a Tecumseh compressor 134a this will mostly be a temporary fix.. 2 weeks to 2 months before the stater winding burn up.

The energy efficiency embraco compressor EM, F,EG, NE prefix will not last much longer either.

AC compressor can take the extra amperage that the hard start will sent to the start windings with a hard start.

VCC or Variable capacity Compressor will have three pins just like a AC compressor but will not have a relay it will have a AC/DC inverter. a gray box next to the compressor.

With today's compressors the 3n1 will be a temporary repair..if you need a relay use a factory relay . if it will not start it is time for a new compressor.
Check the Basics first!!! Read the Manual !!!Buy the tech a Beer!!!

 

31-9125 GE Profile 42" and 48" Built-In Side by Side Refrigerators Service Manual

Started by AJ

Replies: 0
Views: 991
Last post September 08, 2011, 05:14:41 PM
by AJ
31-9153 GE Profile Side-By-Side Refrigerators Service Manual

Started by AJ

Replies: 0
Views: 1719
Last post October 25, 2011, 09:12:16 PM
by AJ
Do you have one of these GE refrigerators?

Started by AJ

Replies: 0
Views: 3545
Last post July 01, 2007, 08:39:00 AM
by AJ
Newer Whirlpool Refrigerator sxs icing problem

Started by Wedgeman55

Replies: 3
Views: 2377
Last post August 09, 2008, 06:42:21 AM
by Repair-man
GE PROFILE REFRIDGERATOR

Started by icemanxxxv

Replies: 4
Views: 2868
Last post September 08, 2008, 09:31:36 AM
by Repair-man
TFH30PR GE Profile Frigde

Started by jones54

Replies: 1
Views: 3894
Last post October 24, 2008, 06:21:17 AM
by Repair-man