Author Topic: starting my new carrer next week.  (Read 9388 times)

Offline chic

• VIP Member
starting my new carrer next week.
« on: January 31, 2008, 03:49:08 PM »
Hi all,Iam new to this forum.I was recently laid off after 14 years,I was a power tool technician.well after 5 months of unemployment i landed a job with Sears and A&E services ,one day i will be able to call myself an "appliance technician"until then i have a lot to learn.well i think this is a great forum to be able to learn from so i will be doing a lot of reading,and one day i just might be able to contribute.If anyone has a ? about power tools i sure will help you.

"The best cordless tool is a fishing pole"

Offline AJ

• Technician
    Administrator
    • ApplianceJunk.com - Appliance Repair
Re: starting my new carrer next week.
« Reply #1 on: January 31, 2008, 06:10:55 PM »
Hi chic  :tiphat:

Glad you joined our community.

Sorry to hear about you being laid off after 14 years. That had to be hard.
It's good news though that you are about to start a new career as a appliance technician.

one day i just might be able to contribute.

One day soon too, as everyday you will learn something that could help someone else. :)

If you have any question please post them in the forums. We have a great group of technicians here that can help you out.

Good luck with the new job and be sure to keep us posted on how it goes.

:cheers:

Hope you find our website helpful.

Offline TechnicianBrian

• Technician
    • TechnicianBrian.com
« Reply #2 on: January 31, 2008, 06:32:16 PM »
Hi Chic,

Good luck with A&E.  I worked for them for a few years and even though you are a Sears employee, it is much better than being a Sears tech.  Just my opinion.  Like AJ said, visit often because it gives you a good feel for what is going on out in the real world, and if you are not getting answers to your questions from your mentor, ask them here.  We will be glad to help.

Offline whirlpooltech

• Technician