Author Topic: Kenmore 790 Series Slide In Range  (Read 8234 times)

Offline Repair-man

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Feb 2008
  • Posts: 3020
  • Country: us
  • The Virtual Repairman
    • The Virtual Repairmans Appliance Help
Re: Kenmore 790 Series Slide In Range
« Reply #15 on: August 29, 2009, 12:08:37 PM »
Check that regulator to see if there is a small lever on one end which must be open. Some have this device to shut off gas to the burners.
"It's only expensive if someone else fixes it for you" -
The Virtual Repairman   www.repair2000.com

Offline lemmy

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Aug 2009
  • Posts: 11
Re: Kenmore 790 Series Slide In Range
« Reply #16 on: August 31, 2009, 12:11:28 PM »
Thanks for your help.  I finally got all of the burners working well.  Unfortunately no matter what I do, I can't get the F1 to go away on the electronic controller.  I will probably just have to end up getting a new range.   I am convinced it is either the keypad going bad or just the ribbon cable from the keypad not making good connection on the electronic board, but those are both very expensive parts. 

Offline Repair-man

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Feb 2008
  • Posts: 3020
  • Country: us
  • The Virtual Repairman
    • The Virtual Repairmans Appliance Help
Re: Kenmore 790 Series Slide In Range
« Reply #17 on: August 31, 2009, 03:28:15 PM »
What did you do to solve the burner problem??

The clock for this unit is $279, which to me is a lot cheaper than a $1100 range.

"It's only expensive if someone else fixes it for you" -
The Virtual Repairman   www.repair2000.com

Offline lemmy

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Aug 2009
  • Posts: 11
Re: Kenmore 790 Series Slide In Range
« Reply #18 on: September 01, 2009, 10:11:20 AM »
What had happened with the gas is that when I was first checking it out, we had not closed yet.  I checked that the gas was on and it was...and the hot water was working.  I got all of the eyes and ignitors working.  Then two days later it wasn't working.  And the water was still hot.  But when I took off the hose and no gas was coming out, I went outside and somebody (utility company? ) had turned off the gas.  The water was still hot because of the insulation in the water heater, but of course it was out too.  Turned the gas on and everything is working fine there.

Does that price include the keypad AND the electronic board?  Ours is white so it is a little more expensive for some reason.  I have just read too many stories of people having the F1 and then getting a new board and 6 months later it happens again.   I am convinced it is either the keypad or the ribbon cable/connector interface.  I may just try soldering wires direction from the keypad to the controller board to see if this helps.  I have nothing to lose at this point.  The oven light relay had two bad solder joints which were preventing the lights from working.  I reflowed the solder on those two locations and the lights work fine now.

Offline Washaman

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Jul 2009
  • Posts: 509
  • Country: us
Re: Kenmore 790 Series Slide In Range
« Reply #19 on: September 01, 2009, 10:39:49 AM »
Ahah! Always check the simplest/cheapest things first. O0

Offline fixyourboard

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Sep 2009
  • Posts: 88
    • Repair control boards for home appliances
Re: Kenmore 790 Series Slide In Range
« Reply #20 on: September 09, 2009, 10:45:20 PM »
Just noticed this thread. We fix a lot of these F1 error problems on the control board. Often they are intermittent at first, then become constant over time. The repair to the board is very reliable when done properly, and you won't see it come back. Or, of course, you can buy a new board if it is still available.

Did you replace the board and did it fix the problem?

Regards,
Bruce
www.fixyourboard.com
www.fixyourboard.com - We repair electronic control boards.

Offline JWWebster

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Jan 2008
  • Posts: 8780
  • Country: us
  • SublimeMasterJW
    • Buy me a beer through paypal
    • JW's Sublime Appliance Advice
Re: Kenmore 790 Series Slide In Range
« Reply #21 on: September 09, 2009, 10:57:39 PM »
Bruce I been trying believe it or not to make a kit to replace these boards with old school controls.
May the hinges of our friendship
        never grow rusty.

About the icons: The beer is tip link, if a tech saves ya some money buy em a 6 pack. The small green square=personal message. The green dot is a link to my web page on appliance repair and other general BS I love to post. The letter sends me email.
I love fan letters! LOL

Offline fixyourboard

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Sep 2009
  • Posts: 88
    • Repair control boards for home appliances
Re: Kenmore 790 Series Slide In Range
« Reply #22 on: September 10, 2009, 08:15:27 AM »
Bruce I been trying believe it or not to make a kit to replace these boards with old school controls.

That's interesting. In the past week or so I've had 5 cases of Whirlpool 4448868 control boards with very worn out displays. These are from model series: KEBI206, KEBI241, KEBI276, KEBS107, etc.

The displays are custom made and I've been searching for a way to get the mfr to source me some, no luck... But I've been thinking there may be an alternative board (or as you are thinking -an old school control kit) that could salvage these units.

I'd be interested in discussing this further with you.

Bruce
www.fixyourboard.com - We repair electronic control boards.

Follow us on Google+
 

Kenmore Range Overheating

Started by TechnicianBrian

Replies: 0
Views: 2882
Last post March 20, 2008, 11:13:21 PM
by TechnicianBrian
Kenmore Range codes

Started by PPGBODYMAN

Replies: 7
Views: 7096
Last post September 13, 2008, 11:38:49 PM
by whirlpooltech
Sears Kenmore Over the Range Microhood issue

Started by JumpinJackFlash

Replies: 4
Views: 2795
Last post February 22, 2009, 06:16:36 PM
by JumpinJackFlash
Kenmore Electric Range-No Bake or Broil

Started by Gobbyparts

Replies: 10
Views: 6301
Last post February 23, 2009, 04:56:02 PM
by RegUS_PatOff
Kenmore Electric Kitchen Range Burner Overheat

Started by hsu201

Replies: 9
Views: 7513
Last post July 08, 2009, 05:41:52 PM
by jumptrout51
BOSCH HMV9305 - 300 Series Over-The-Range Bosch Microwave not working

Started by dpbrasil

Replies: 1
Views: 1991
Last post August 10, 2009, 11:04:20 AM
by magician59