Author Topic: Kenmore 790 Series Slide In Range  (Read 9788 times)

Offline lemmy

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Aug 2009
  • Posts: 11
Kenmore 790 Series Slide In Range
« on: August 07, 2009, 02:38:31 PM »
I have purchased a condo with this slide in range.  All I have is the Care and Use manual.  I looked on here and found that it was made by Frigidaire.  However none of the manuals in the Frigidaire section have Gas slide on stoves.  Only the gas cook tops and freestanding.  Any idea where I can get a repair manual?  Or even an install manual?  Thanks.  

Model 790.46812991

Offline jumptrout51

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Nov 2007
  • Posts: 1879
  • Country: us
    • Buy me a beer through paypal
Re: Kenmore 790 Series Slide In Range
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2009, 05:38:10 PM »
What problem are you having with the range?
Take a Kid fishing.

Offline Repair-man

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Feb 2008
  • Posts: 3020
  • Country: us
  • The Virtual Repairman
    • The Virtual Repairmans Appliance Help
Re: Kenmore 790 Series Slide In Range
« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2009, 08:22:54 PM »
There was no "slide-in" manual made. Use the Frigidaire 30" Gas Freestanding range manual for reference. An installation manual would not help you...it just shows the wall cutout, electrical etc.
"It's only expensive if someone else fixes it for you" -
The Virtual Repairman   www.repair2000.com

Offline lemmy

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Aug 2009
  • Posts: 11
Re: Kenmore 790 Series Slide In Range
« Reply #3 on: August 07, 2009, 11:35:49 PM »
The control board has fallen in (isn't flush with the front like it is supposed to) and it beeps and has F1 error code.  Also, when I turn any of the eyes on, I here the clicking of the ignitor, but nothing lights. The clicking just sounds like it is coming from the front right eye regardless of which eye I turn on.  I wanted the manual because I can't even figure out how to get the slide-in stove out so I can check to see if the gas valve is even on.

Offline Repair-man

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Feb 2008
  • Posts: 3020
  • Country: us
  • The Virtual Repairman
    • The Virtual Repairmans Appliance Help
Re: Kenmore 790 Series Slide In Range
« Reply #4 on: August 08, 2009, 05:28:48 AM »
There's no need to slide the unit out for that ....if you can  light the burners with a match, the gas is on. You can't hear the gas when you turn the knob or smell anything?


F-1 is a bad touch pad on the clock. Sounds like a bad spark module from here also.

Besides, a slide in range simply slides right out. It has feet just like a regular range, only no finished side panels. "Drop-in" ranges are slightly different, but this isn't one of them. Try opening the oven door, grasping the inside of the cavity at the top and pull out the range.
"It's only expensive if someone else fixes it for you" -
The Virtual Repairman   www.repair2000.com

Offline lemmy

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Aug 2009
  • Posts: 11
Re: Kenmore 790 Series Slide In Range
« Reply #5 on: August 09, 2009, 10:07:04 PM »
I haven't tried to light the burners with a match, but I smell no gas at all while trying to light.   However when the home inspector was there, he had trouble with it, but was finally able to get the front right eye only working, but I have no idea how because I wasn't there (my girlfriend was). 

If I end up having to replace this range. Can I replace it with a standard freestanding range with no changes to the cabinets?  They look to be about the same width. 

Also, I have read several places online about the 790 series having fire problems.  I realize this is a very expensive range, but should I bother with trying to fix it if this model is a known fire hazard?

Offline Repair-man

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Feb 2008
  • Posts: 3020
  • Country: us
  • The Virtual Repairman
    • The Virtual Repairmans Appliance Help
Re: Kenmore 790 Series Slide In Range
« Reply #6 on: August 10, 2009, 04:56:00 AM »
The "790" series pertains to every product made by Frigidaire, so NO, there are no general hazard issues with every Frigidaire product.

You can replace a slide-in with a freestanding range...the only difference is finished panels on the sides.

If you don't know whether you can light the burners with a match then you haven't done much checking out of the problem. Maybe you should hire someone with experience to properly assess the problem.
"It's only expensive if someone else fixes it for you" -
The Virtual Repairman   www.repair2000.com

Offline lemmy

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Aug 2009
  • Posts: 11
Re: Kenmore 790 Series Slide In Range
« Reply #7 on: August 10, 2009, 09:44:21 AM »
well, actually I haven't tried with a match because I didn't have one with me at the time and I haven't closed on the condo yet so I can't just walk over there and check it out any time I want.  I just messed with it about 5-10 minutes then I got the model number and I am trying to get info online so I can be ready when I move in.  I want to be without a range for as little time as possible. 

Offline jumptrout51

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Nov 2007
  • Posts: 1879
  • Country: us
    • Buy me a beer through paypal
Re: Kenmore 790 Series Slide In Range
« Reply #8 on: August 10, 2009, 08:28:35 PM »
Tell them to replace the range to close the deal.
Take a Kid fishing.

Offline Washaman

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Jul 2009
  • Posts: 517
  • Country: us
Re: Kenmore 790 Series Slide In Range
« Reply #9 on: August 15, 2009, 11:06:49 PM »
And call the gas company to make sure the previous owners did not shut it off, maybe you need to have it put in your name if you smell no gas?

 

Kenmore slide-in range control board buttons don't respond

Started by lars9989

Replies: 0
Views: 78
Last post November 30, 2014, 06:45:10 PM
by lars9989
Kenmore Range Overheating

Started by TechnicianBrian

Replies: 0
Views: 3534
Last post March 20, 2008, 11:13:21 PM
by TechnicianBrian
Kenmore Range codes

Started by PPGBODYMAN

Replies: 7
Views: 8163
Last post September 13, 2008, 11:38:49 PM
by whirlpooltech
Sears Kenmore Over the Range Microhood issue

Started by JumpinJackFlash

Replies: 4
Views: 3362
Last post February 22, 2009, 06:16:36 PM
by JumpinJackFlash
Kenmore Electric Range-No Bake or Broil

Started by Gobbyparts

Replies: 10
Views: 7652
Last post February 23, 2009, 04:56:02 PM
by RegUS_PatOff
Kenmore Electric Kitchen Range Burner Overheat

Started by hsu201

Replies: 9
Views: 9055
Last post July 08, 2009, 05:41:52 PM
by jumptrout51