Forum > Heating & Air Conditioning Repair

Compressor/coil

(1/2) > >>

RBC242:
Can anyone tell me what size unit this is ? Serial # 95C29862H. I replaced the coil inside (split unit) 3 ton coil.The coil make's excessive noise when starting and stopping.Could the unit's not be matched or was the line not evacuated proprerly/at all. The coil does not get cold all the way to the top.The old coil was old and clogged in spot's I could not get to.There was also a solid 20* temp  diff. where as now it is 17.5. I was an electrician for yrs and did property management so I know my way around a bit.Any help out there ?

copeland CR13-0290-PFV-230

Repair-man:
29,000 BTU compressor  (2.5 ton)

What do you mean, "the coil is making excessive noise"? Is it the fan or the evaporator making the noise, and describe it, please.

And for heaven's sake, what did you mean by this comment:

--- Quote ---.Could the unit's not be matched or was the line not evacuated proprerly/at all.
--- End quote ---

Do you not know if you evacuated the system or not when you replaced the coil?
Did you change the liquid line dryer at the condenser, or better yet, add one at the evaporator?

Your condenser is 14 years old and most likely the compressor has bad reed valves, considering that the  inside coil was in bad shape and clogged. No doubt the low delta temps you are now getting is a result of  an inefficient compressor. Ordinarily a 2,5 ton compressor can handle a 3-ton coil as long as it is properly charged and maintained.

Still, you will only get 2.5 tons of cooling, which will effectively cool about 1500 sq. ft.

RBC242: