Author Topic: Replacing my Broiler element  (Read 3256 times)

Offline greyhnds

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Apr 2009
  • Posts: 7
Replacing my Broiler element
« on: April 13, 2009, 03:36:16 PM »
I have the new element but I got distracted in the middle of removing the original one.  I can see that the one wire goes to one terminal I can remember that.  One other wire is the one that connects to the bake element so I assume that goes to the other terminal.  Then there is the 3rd wire I am assuming it is a ground but could be wrong.  What did it connect to?

Model JD14Y1DC

Offline whirlpooltech

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Nov 2007
  • Posts: 1367
  • Country: us
  • 20 years of experience
Re: Replacing my Broiler element
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2009, 03:41:31 PM »
What colors are the three wires you are working with?

A green wire would be a ground wire.

Offline greyhnds

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Apr 2009
  • Posts: 7
Re: Replacing my Broiler element
« Reply #2 on: April 13, 2009, 04:10:51 PM »
In the attached picture the wire on the left is the red one.  The one on the right is black and also attaches to bake element.  The middle wire is also black and it is the one in question.

Offline Repair-man

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Feb 2008
  • Posts: 3020
  • Country: us
  • The Virtual Repairman
    • The Virtual Repairmans Appliance Help
Re: Replacing my Broiler element
« Reply #3 on: April 13, 2009, 05:26:48 PM »
The 2 black wires go together on one side of the element. The single red on the other.
« Last Edit: April 13, 2009, 05:28:59 PM by Repair-man »
"It's only expensive if someone else fixes it for you" -
The Virtual Repairman   www.repair2000.com

Offline greyhnds

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Apr 2009
  • Posts: 7
Re: Replacing my Broiler element
« Reply #4 on: April 13, 2009, 05:38:55 PM »
I am assuming you mean both blacks together and then add the terminal from the element on top and put the screw in.  This is how I thought it was all the time but was told no way 2 would hook to one terminal.

Offline Repair-man

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Feb 2008
  • Posts: 3020
  • Country: us
  • The Virtual Repairman
    • The Virtual Repairmans Appliance Help
Re: Replacing my Broiler element
« Reply #5 on: April 14, 2009, 02:34:03 AM »
There's no ASSuming to it. The black wires are the L1 common leads for both the bake and broil elements, as your wiring diagram  shows. Red goes on the other side as the L2 circuit.  Most ovens are set up this way.
"It's only expensive if someone else fixes it for you" -
The Virtual Repairman   www.repair2000.com

Offline greyhnds

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Apr 2009
  • Posts: 7
Re: Replacing my Broiler element
« Reply #6 on: April 14, 2009, 10:19:18 AM »
I want to thank you so very much for your help!!!  I didn't have a diagram as the oven is from 1966.  You helped me so much!

Offline greyhnds

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Apr 2009
  • Posts: 7
Re: Replacing my Broiler element
« Reply #7 on: April 14, 2009, 04:15:32 PM »
Now that the new element is in it still doesn't work.  What should I check next?

Offline Repair-man

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Feb 2008
  • Posts: 3020
  • Country: us
  • The Virtual Repairman
    • The Virtual Repairmans Appliance Help
Re: Replacing my Broiler element
« Reply #8 on: April 14, 2009, 04:36:54 PM »
If the old element shorted out, the first thig I would do is verify 240 volts at the back of the oven broil terminals when set to broil (it was the broil element, right?). Sometimes the short can take out the  thermostat contacts or Bake/Briol switch contacts if so equipped, and also can trip half the breaker, leading you to think something is wrong. Fully reset the breaker first then measure the power.
"It's only expensive if someone else fixes it for you" -
The Virtual Repairman   www.repair2000.com

Offline greyhnds

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Apr 2009
  • Posts: 7
Re: Replacing my Broiler element
« Reply #9 on: April 21, 2009, 12:31:04 PM »
I borrowed an ohm meter but don't know how to use it.  Can you guide me through what to do?  I attached a picture of it.

Offline Repair-man

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Feb 2008
  • Posts: 3020
  • Country: us
  • The Virtual Repairman
    • The Virtual Repairmans Appliance Help
Re: Replacing my Broiler element
« Reply #10 on: April 21, 2009, 02:55:11 PM »
Set the meter to 250  AC V

Turn on the oven and place one lead on each broil terminal.

If you don't see at least 236 volts show up on the dial, then the control is bad..if it does show true voltage, the element is out.

You can first use the meter to check across the incoming black and the red wires in the top to see if you actually have 240 volts.
« Last Edit: April 21, 2009, 02:56:44 PM by Repair-man »
"It's only expensive if someone else fixes it for you" -
The Virtual Repairman   www.repair2000.com

 

Whirlpool Range Bake Element Not Heating

Started by TechnicianBrian

Replies: 0
Views: 1550
Last post April 08, 2008, 07:08:16 AM
by TechnicianBrian
Whirlpool Range Surface Element not Working

Started by TechnicianBrian

Replies: 0
Views: 2338
Last post June 04, 2008, 11:06:40 PM
by TechnicianBrian
Replacing top on cracked glass ceramic cooktop

Started by er

Replies: 5
Views: 9592
Last post August 14, 2008, 07:20:03 AM
by AJ
Replacing Ceramic/Glass range cooktop

Started by campmasterb

Replies: 7
Views: 5386
Last post October 06, 2008, 07:34:44 PM
by campmasterb
Jenn-Air Range Right Rear Element not Heating

Started by TechnicianBrian

Replies: 0
Views: 1776
Last post October 21, 2008, 05:20:49 AM
by TechnicianBrian
Broiler won't light

Started by Charlie E

Replies: 4
Views: 1535
Last post November 05, 2008, 12:52:25 PM
by JWWebster