Author Topic: Dealing with buyers remorse (for those who work for a dealer)  (Read 238 times)

Offline bagjr387

• Technician
I am relatively new at the service end of the appliance business. I have only been on my own for about a year, and been in service for 18 months. I work for an appliance dealer who sells, delivers, installs, and services. So as a technician I see a lot of buyers remorse, where customers just find an excuse to try and get rid of something they just bought and get a different brand/color/etc.

Its frustrating when I look at my route, and out of 10 calls, 2-3 are brand new appliances, typically nothing wrong with them. Today is the day when I finally decide to vent. A call with a brand new Frigidaire gas dryer FAQG7001(i think) has a complaint of not drying, and shredding clothes.

first thing I do, verify venting is clear and start the dryer on timed dry/ normal heat.  Dryer maintained about 145-150 degrees for nearly 20 minutes. Then I check to see if the glides maybe fell apart (the only thing I could think would shred clothes) everything is good...nothing is wrong with this dryer.

my conversation with the customer:

Me: your dryer seems to be operating normally, Whats happening?
Her: nothing comes out dry, I have to run the dryer longer to get clothes dry, My old dryer was better
Me: your dryer operating temps are normal, and the dryer is cycling properly. I can assure you there is nothing wrong with the dryer. I checked your venting and its clear. can I dry a load of laundry, and go to my next call, and return in 45 minutes or so?
Her: (she was trying to change the subject) well what about my towels shredding?
Me: Let me see them
Her: well they arent shredding, but I notice more lint in the lint trap and I know that the towels are falling apart because they don't absorb water as well as they should. Water rolls off of them.