Author Topic: New MultiMeter?  (Read 2057 times)

Offline whirlpooltech

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Nov 2007
  • Posts: 1367
  • Country: us
  • 20 years of experience
New MultiMeter?
« on: February 09, 2009, 08:21:08 PM »
Been shopping around for a new multimeter.
I was wondering what the other guy's around here use or would recommend for a good meter.

This is a meter I would use on a daily bases so I need something that will hold up to the test of time. So please don't suggest any cheap junk.


Offline JWWebster

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Jan 2008
  • Posts: 8781
  • Country: us
  • SublimeMasterJW
    • Buy me a beer through paypal
    • JW's Sublime Appliance Advice
Re: New MultiMeter?
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2009, 09:38:08 PM »
I have a Fluke. Very fine. I have had it since 95 and ain't even had to put a battery in it. Sure I forget to turn it off all the time. But it turns itself off. All I gotta do is hit the refresh button in the middle of the dial. Damn fine meter. My backup is my old Simpson.
May the hinges of our friendship
        never grow rusty.

About the icons: The beer is tip link, if a tech saves ya some money buy em a 6 pack. The small green square=personal message. The green dot is a link to my web page on appliance repair and other general BS I love to post. The letter sends me email.
I love fan letters! LOL

Offline whirlpooltech

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Nov 2007
  • Posts: 1367
  • Country: us
  • 20 years of experience
Re: New MultiMeter?
« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2009, 11:07:02 PM »
Let me also add, if your using a older meter and would need to by a new one what meter would you buy today?

Offline AJ

  • Technician
    Administrator
  • Member Since: Jun 2007
  • Posts: 9436
  • Country: us
    • ApplianceJunk.com - Appliance Repair
Re: New MultiMeter?
« Reply #3 on: February 09, 2009, 11:22:59 PM »
I personally use a Fluke 16 meter.

Fluke no longer makes that model, but if you look around you can still find places that have them for sale.

I would like to give one of the Fluke T5 Models a try.



Hope you find our site helpful.

Offline JWWebster

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Jan 2008
  • Posts: 8781
  • Country: us
  • SublimeMasterJW
    • Buy me a beer through paypal
    • JW's Sublime Appliance Advice
Re: New MultiMeter?
« Reply #4 on: February 10, 2009, 09:05:05 AM »
My friend Sarge had one of them small Flukes. It did continuity and voltage without having to make any selections.
May the hinges of our friendship
        never grow rusty.

About the icons: The beer is tip link, if a tech saves ya some money buy em a 6 pack. The small green square=personal message. The green dot is a link to my web page on appliance repair and other general BS I love to post. The letter sends me email.
I love fan letters! LOL

Offline Icehouse

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Oct 2008
  • Posts: 569
    • hvacbob
Re: New MultiMeter?
« Reply #5 on: February 10, 2009, 05:05:15 PM »
Fieldpiece LT17 A best buy for your buck, and was originally "Beckman".  :)
NATE, NCCER, PHCC,HVAC Certified Instructor
Member RSES, US Army Refrigeration Specialist(Retired), Former Refrigeration Teacher NYC Board of Ed.
a tragedy has happen to me : http://web.me.com/zenzoidman/Bobice/

Offline jumptrout51

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Nov 2007
  • Posts: 1879
  • Country: us
    • Buy me a beer through paypal
Re: New MultiMeter?
« Reply #6 on: February 10, 2009, 05:16:34 PM »
Fieldpiece SC66. It does everything I need including K-thermocouple for temp and reads caps to 1/10th of a micro farad, DC voltage, AC voltage, Amps, Continuity, Ohms, DC amps.
Take a Kid fishing.

Offline JWWebster

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Jan 2008
  • Posts: 8781
  • Country: us
  • SublimeMasterJW
    • Buy me a beer through paypal
    • JW's Sublime Appliance Advice
Re: New MultiMeter?
« Reply #7 on: February 10, 2009, 05:34:12 PM »
I made a home made continuity checker using an old dryer buzzer.We are talking low cost here. A lamp cord, aligator clips and the buzzer. I put a buzzer and aligator clip on L-1,aligator clip on L2. Works with a light bulb too. If I want to check motors without harming them I use a water heater element or a dryer element in the place of a light bulb to water down the current so as not to burn any windings.
« Last Edit: February 10, 2009, 05:41:51 PM by JWWebster »
May the hinges of our friendship
        never grow rusty.

About the icons: The beer is tip link, if a tech saves ya some money buy em a 6 pack. The small green square=personal message. The green dot is a link to my web page on appliance repair and other general BS I love to post. The letter sends me email.
I love fan letters! LOL

Offline shieldcracker

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Nov 2008
  • Posts: 86
Re: New MultiMeter?
« Reply #8 on: February 11, 2009, 08:47:07 PM »
W.
It all depends on what do you want to measure.You can't go wrong with Fluke, other good stuff to be found comes from Wavetek, Amprobe, UEI, field piece and of course Simpson.

 

Video: Using a Multimeter

Started by AJ

Replies: 2
Views: 2073
Last post January 19, 2008, 06:52:54 PM
by galen
Fluke 113 Multimeter Giveaway: 2/11/11 - 2/25/11

Started by AJ

Replies: 152
Views: 26981
Last post March 01, 2011, 07:14:42 AM
by AJ
Re: Fluke 113 Multimeter Giveaway: 2/11/11 - 2/25/11

Started by mdoms

Replies: 1
Views: 983
Last post January 29, 2012, 07:44:14 PM
by AJ