Author Topic: Admiral Refrigerator  (Read 6442 times)

Offline GolferMike

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Dec 2008
  • Posts: 14
Re: Admiral Refrigerator
« Reply #10 on: December 28, 2008, 10:28:53 AM »
Alright...that flap was on cool...I opened it up to cold. That one I could fee was at least colder than the one at the top.

11:19 temp 66-degrees.

Of note, when I removed the guard to check the fan motor (for direction) int he freezer, and looked at the little duct that runs air from the freezer to the fresh food side, I did notice that there was a small gap...about an 1/8 to 3/16 of an inch from the edge of the duct to the opening on the right side. I don't remember there being any kind of tape or seal when I swapped the motor out. Should there be? After an hour, should I throw some duct tape on there as a temp fix and see what happens?

Thanks again everybody. All my food is in the other fridge in the garage---actually its in the freezer of the other fridge because its not cooling right either---but one damn problem at a time...lol.

Thanks.

Offline Repair-man

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Feb 2008
  • Posts: 3020
  • Country: us
  • The Virtual Repairman
    • The Virtual Repairmans Appliance Help
Re: Admiral Refrigerator
« Reply #11 on: December 28, 2008, 10:33:35 AM »
If the freezer has 66 degrees, you have sealed system issues.

I asked for the B/OM number so I can see your model. Other techs please hold your comments for now until we can clarify his problem, thanks.
« Last Edit: December 28, 2008, 10:38:32 AM by Repair-man »
"It's only expensive if someone else fixes it for you" -
The Virtual Repairman   www.repair2000.com

Offline GolferMike

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Dec 2008
  • Posts: 14
Re: Admiral Refrigerator
« Reply #12 on: December 28, 2008, 10:37:35 AM »
Working on finding a second thermometer for freezer temps.

What is a B/OM on the model number, and where would I find it?

Offline Repair-man

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Feb 2008
  • Posts: 3020
  • Country: us
  • The Virtual Repairman
    • The Virtual Repairmans Appliance Help
Re: Admiral Refrigerator
« Reply #13 on: December 28, 2008, 10:39:05 AM »
Its printed on the model sticker in the FF section.
"It's only expensive if someone else fixes it for you" -
The Virtual Repairman   www.repair2000.com

Offline GolferMike

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Dec 2008
  • Posts: 14
Re: Admiral Refrigerator
« Reply #14 on: December 28, 2008, 10:44:20 AM »
If that is the sticker on the edge of the door when you open the FF section, my sticker is about 1/2 gone...but when I open the fridge to check the temps at 12:20... I will be happy to give you what I have left on the sticker. Is the info posted anywhere elso on the fridge?

The 66-degrees was the temp in the FF section, not the freezer...sorry about the confusion. 2nd thermometer is in the freezer and I will relay info when I check next time.

Offline Repair-man

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Feb 2008
  • Posts: 3020
  • Country: us
  • The Virtual Repairman
    • The Virtual Repairmans Appliance Help
Re: Admiral Refrigerator
« Reply #15 on: December 28, 2008, 10:50:15 AM »
Give it 12 hours...you have been fooling around in there and the temps need time to stabilize. I realize the predicament with your food in the other unit, but some things must be done right if we are to get to the bottom of this.. I'll be around after 9:00 this evening to hear your findings.


p.s. The B/M # should also be stamped on back.
"It's only expensive if someone else fixes it for you" -
The Virtual Repairman   www.repair2000.com

Offline GolferMike

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Dec 2008
  • Posts: 14
Re: Admiral Refrigerator
« Reply #16 on: December 28, 2008, 10:57:46 AM »
I hope so...I let it run overnight, and the temp in the ff side only went from 72 to 63....I looked all over the back and didn't see a plate or a stamp anywhere....just the EnergyGuide sticker. I'll give you what the sticker on the door says in 1/2 hour.

Offline Repair-man

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Feb 2008
  • Posts: 3020
  • Country: us
  • The Virtual Repairman
    • The Virtual Repairmans Appliance Help
Re: Admiral Refrigerator
« Reply #17 on: December 28, 2008, 11:02:48 AM »
OK, and while you're at it, a little more history on this unit would be nice...
For example, has it been working until you changed the fan motor?

When was it purchased?

"It's only expensive if someone else fixes it for you" -
The Virtual Repairman   www.repair2000.com

Offline GolferMike

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Dec 2008
  • Posts: 14
Re: Admiral Refrigerator
« Reply #18 on: December 28, 2008, 11:20:41 AM »
The unit was given to us 2nd hand when we bought our house. Aside from the ice maker not working, we haven't had a problem with it until about a month ago. The fan unit would make a loud noise while it was running. After a few minutes the sound would go away. Recently the sound was becoming more and more frequent and would continue for longer periods of time. The last time was over 4 hours long, and the sound was loud enough to be heard at the far end of the house. All this time the fridge contiuned to work fine. No compaints except for the sound.

After some consultation (not here I'm sorry to say. I do wish I had found this site first) with our local appliance guy we narrowed the problem down the fan motor.  My brother-inlaw gave us his other fridge that kinda-worked, so I dragged the side-by-side out, brought the other one in...this way I could work on the Admiral in the garage. Changing the motor only took about an hour (though I probably could do it now in about 10 mins), and I plugged the unit in and it worked...no more sound. I will admit that I did NOT check the temps in either the Freezer or FF section. I was just grateful that I didn't have the sound anymore. We were just going to leave the older Admiral out in the garage to use as a freezer when we discovered that the "loaner" that the inlaws gave us doesn't cool very well (we're using the freezer section as a fridge). The Magic Chef is just a few years old, is very clean and dirt free... I'm thinking it might need a charge of refigerant.

So I dragged the Magic Chef out, and brought he Admiral back inside... Of course, the Admiral is about 100lbs heavier and wont fit through the side door. If the wife tells me to move the damn thing again, I'll call a divorce atty on the way to have my hernia operation. We plugged everything in at around 3pm Sat , and about 3-4 hours later evening we realized that something was wrong.

Offline GolferMike

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Dec 2008
  • Posts: 14
Re: Admiral Refrigerator
« Reply #19 on: December 28, 2008, 11:37:28 AM »
Alright....it's been over 1 hour...temp checks.

Freezer is 22-degrees (but the damper for the fresh food section is wide open, so I think that might have something to do with the temp).

Fresh Food is 64-degrees.

And the partially torn sticker I can barely read the model number DNS22---(the last two numbers are H9. That info is on the EnergyGuide sticker on the back. The rest of the sticker is not readable.

 

Admiral Refrigerator

Started by mjrobs

Replies: 1
Views: 1709
Last post May 02, 2008, 09:46:00 AM
by JWWebster
Admiral Refrigerator Not Cooling

Started by TechnicianBrian

Replies: 0
Views: 3243
Last post May 28, 2008, 07:46:39 PM
by TechnicianBrian
Admiral Refrigerator

Started by Georges Applianc

Replies: 6
Views: 2479
Last post February 08, 2011, 08:44:42 PM
by Georges Applianc
Admiral/Montgomery Ward Refrigerator Seal

Started by SallyMae49418

Replies: 2
Views: 447
Last post November 16, 2014, 07:41:27 PM
by SallyMae49418
Repair Guide: Whirlpool Refrigerator - Water in bottom of fridge under drawers.

Started by AJ

Replies: 3
Views: 87925
Last post July 08, 2007, 12:04:06 PM
by curtis
GE refrigerator/freezer

Started by MajorApp

Replies: 7
Views: 5206
Last post May 21, 2008, 05:44:45 AM
by Repair-man