Author Topic: Kitchenaid Dishwasher Making Noise.  (Read 4464 times)

Offline TechnicianBrian

• Technician
    • TechnicianBrian.com
Kitchenaid Dishwasher Making Noise.
« on: December 28, 2008, 12:13:42 PM »
Model Number: KUDR01TJWH0 icon

Here is another post that comes from the mailbag where a visitor named Joe is having some difficulty with his dishwasher making noise. Here is what he had to say.

Hi Brian,
I saw your post about the dishwasher making noise (during the wash), and you replaced the pump motor. I have a KUDR01TJWH0icon doing the same thing. I am a Electrician by trade and pretty handy in many trades. I think I will tackle the pump replacement on my unit myself and just wondered how difficult the project would be. Is there a a common problem like say the impeller breaks up and I could just replace that or I am better off buying a whole pump and just swapping it out?
Any help would be great. I did remove the lower wash arm and covers to get to the chopper blade and I found a large glass chip in there which might have caused the damage. I removed it and put it back together and the noise remains. Is the pump accessible from the interior of the unit or do i need to remove the dishwasher from the cabinet to gain access to it. I am assuming the second choice.

Thanks again
Joe

Well Joe, sounds like your heading in the right direction. Lets see if I can shed some light on the problem.