Free Service - Appliance Repair Help & Troubleshooting

Author Topic: Whirlpool LEQ9030PQ1 Servicing Questions  (Read 501 times)

Offline mytai11

• VIP Member
Whirlpool LEQ9030PQ1 Servicing Questions
« on: September 25, 2016, 10:52:07 PM »
 :)

Hey Fellas,

First things first:  The people who answer forum questions are nothing short of internet angels who care about people - so THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing that all-important corporate knowledge you have that allows people like me to avoid a bill in the hundreds of dollars.   :thanks:

Noob here, first post to this forum...however, I have pulled apart dryers before, and a couple washers.  I'm versed in mechanics, and have taken down everything from engines and transmissions in cars, to miniature pocket watch gears, springs, and escapes (little hobby of mine...)

So, I've got this dryer 2nd hand, and I'm pretty sure it's never been serviced in any way.  The lady I bought it from seemed to be a heavy user (had a family,) and also, I spent the better part of half an hour cleaning off the stuck-on gunk and scum (probably a mix of old detergent, etc.) from the washer, so I'm thinking the dryer wasn't touched either. 

It dries, but not efficiently.  Had to run a moderate-sized load through two sixty minute cycles.  So, I have some questions:

1.  Is it possible the heating element could be partially out of service?
2.  What passageways can I clean out to ensure there aren't any blockages?
3.  Seems to turn with some resistance.  I plan on removing the tub to get whatever it is that's CONSTANTLY clinking and clanking in there - so I may end up with a new belt if it has one, and possibly (actually, more than likely) the rollers. 

I like these units.  They're a little old, but I was able to pick up both for $125, and after just moving from Hawaii to Nevada, ANYTHING that was working and reasonable was OK with me.  Other than that, I don't mind tweaking, servicing, and tuning up the pair.