Author Topic: Roper Range will not bake!!!Help  (Read 2170 times)

Offline ffmedicmt

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Jun 2008
  • Posts: 8
Roper Range will not bake!!!Help
« on: June 18, 2008, 11:05:21 AM »
The top and broil work fine. In bake mode the igniter does not glow.(sometimes it does and works fine others nothing at all). I was told it is made by Whirlpool. Is this true> Where do I start...Mike

Model Number: 1560B66 icon

Offline Repair-man

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Feb 2008
  • Posts: 3020
  • Country: us
  • The Virtual Repairman
    • The Virtual Repairmans Appliance Help
Re: Roper Range will not bake!!!Help
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2008, 11:16:20 AM »
Start by finding the wire connector for the bake ignitor, usually a few inches back from the ceramic base. Set your voltmeter to read AC volts and look for 120 volts at the 2 wires going to the bake ignitor. If present, replace the ignitor. Avg. lifespan of one of these is usually about 5 years, unless you're Betty Crocker, in which case, 3 years  ;D

And yes, the Roper brand is owned by Whirlpool , as is Estate and Kitchen Aid.
"It's only expensive if someone else fixes it for you" -
The Virtual Repairman   www.repair2000.com

Offline ffmedicmt

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Jun 2008
  • Posts: 8
Re: Roper Range will not bake!!!Help
« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2008, 11:50:52 AM »
Ok, Please forgive me for being ignorant. I have go borrow a volt meter. I have the two wires exsposed. Do I test both wires at the same time and do I have the switched turned on when I test it? Again Im soory but I just dont do this kind of stuff and dont have the $ for a new oven. Mike

Offline Repair-man

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Feb 2008
  • Posts: 3020
  • Country: us
  • The Virtual Repairman
    • The Virtual Repairmans Appliance Help
Re: Roper Range will not bake!!!Help
« Reply #3 on: June 18, 2008, 12:07:15 PM »
First, you need to be very careful since you are messing with live current. I sympathize that you are in a financial strait, but we all have problems. No need having to call 9-1-1 over a possible electrocution though.

The 2 wires that go to the bake ignitor carry 120 volts when the control is set to bake and turned on. If you have the wires exposed, but not disconnected, just touch one meter lead to one connection and place the other meter lead over on the opposite wire. Be VERY sure none of these exposed connections are anywhere near metal or your hand while they are exposed. (If you short them, it will blow the control). Once you fire the oven up and take a reading immediately unplug the oven before you re-connect or re-tape the wires again.
« Last Edit: June 18, 2008, 12:08:51 PM by Repair-man »
"It's only expensive if someone else fixes it for you" -
The Virtual Repairman   www.repair2000.com

Offline jaworf

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Aug 2008
  • Posts: 4
Re: Roper Range will not bake!!!Help
« Reply #4 on: August 08, 2008, 09:38:33 AM »
I have the same problem, but my stove is a Whirlpool Imperial Series. The cook top works, as does the broil mode, but the bake mode just doesn't light up.

Here's what happens: You set the "bake" mode & temperature, and then press "start". It begins the count down from 10 minutes and shortly after I hear a clicking sound (electric spark) and a something that sounds like it is opening up the gas valve. After sparking 5 or 6 times it stops sparking and it shuts off the gas valve.

In Broil mode it only has to spark 2 or 3 times and it lights up. I think the stove is sensing there is no gas and shutting everything down when in bake mode.

Offline Al Capone

  • Administrator
  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Feb 2008
  • Posts: 409
  • Country: us
    • ApplianceJunk.com
Re: Roper Range will not bake!!!Help
« Reply #5 on: August 08, 2008, 11:58:29 AM »
Hi jaworf

Please start a new topic and include the model number of your range.

Thanks,
RepairClinic.com - Order now for same day shipping. 365 day return policy!

AppliancePartsPros.com - Over 1 Million Appliance Parts In-Stock. 365-Day Hassle Free Return Policy!

 

Whirlpool Electric Range - Bake Cycle Not Working

Started by AJ

Replies: 0
Views: 3648
Last post January 01, 2008, 03:44:30 PM
by AJ
Whirlpool Range Bake Element Not Heating

Started by TechnicianBrian

Replies: 0
Views: 2202
Last post April 08, 2008, 07:08:16 AM
by TechnicianBrian
Frigidaire Range no Bake or Broil

Started by TechnicianBrian

Replies: 0
Views: 3139
Last post May 13, 2008, 09:48:19 PM
by TechnicianBrian
Hotpoint Range no Bake or Broil

Started by TechnicianBrian

Replies: 0
Views: 2337
Last post May 18, 2008, 07:42:18 AM
by TechnicianBrian
Maytag PGR5710BDQ Gas Range, Flashing lock light when bake or broil is pressed

Started by straycatt

Replies: 4
Views: 5724
Last post June 14, 2008, 11:19:00 AM
by straycatt
Whirlpool electric range hidden bake element

Started by Jerry

Replies: 2
Views: 5074
Last post December 01, 2008, 07:14:22 PM
by AJ