Author Topic: Swapping motors  (Read 2184 times)

Offline bscott157

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Dec 2012
  • Posts: 4
Swapping motors
« on: July 02, 2014, 11:16:57 PM »
I have a Kenmore washer and the motor needs replacing. The original motor a three speed, had the gray wire from the lid switch plugged into the centrifugal switch. I replaced the motor with a two speed motor and tied the gray wire to the white wire on the centrifugal switch on the replacement motor so the lid switch would have power. Only problem in doing this is the motor now pulls 29 amps. Where can I put the gray lid switch wire so it will have power on it? 

Offline fairbank56

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 415
  • Country: us
Re: Swapping motors
« Reply #1 on: July 03, 2014, 10:53:23 AM »

  Washer model number???

Offline bscott157

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Dec 2012
  • Posts: 4
Re: Swapping motors
« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2014, 01:18:01 PM »
WTW5820SW0

Offline bscott157

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Dec 2012
  • Posts: 4
Re: Swapping motors
« Reply #3 on: July 07, 2014, 01:18:43 PM »
It is actually a Whirlpool washer instead of Kenmore.

Offline fairbank56

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Aug 2012
  • Posts: 415
  • Country: us
Re: Swapping motors
« Reply #4 on: July 07, 2014, 07:57:22 PM »
  You cannot simply swap a 2 speed motor into a washer that normally uses a 3 speed motor without altering the wiring. In the 3 speed configuration, pin 7 of the motor connector is power to the mid speed winding. In the 2 speed configuration, pin 7 is neutral. By just swapping motors, you have placed a direct short between hot and neutral when mid speed is selected. The gray wire does not plug into the centrifugal switch of the 3 speed motor, it plugs into the thermal overload.  The lid switch in your model does not "receive" power, it simply interrupts the neutral circuit to the motor when the lid is opened.  There is a way to make the 2 speed motor work but I'm not going to try and explain how to do it over this forum. You need to put the proper motor into the washer.

Eric
« Last Edit: July 07, 2014, 08:02:17 PM by fairbank56 »

Offline bscott157

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: Dec 2012
  • Posts: 4
Re: Swapping motors
« Reply #5 on: July 07, 2014, 09:29:44 PM »
I can't afford a three speed motor. Thanks for the info on the pin configuration. I will just use the washer for junk parts especially since the ATC switch tends to go bad on them. Those switches are astronomical in price.

 

crazy motors

Started by JPG

Replies: 0
Views: 1637
Last post January 12, 2009, 06:09:44 PM
by JPG
Cheater cords for washer motors

Started by OptiMystic

Replies: 5
Views: 10216
Last post April 11, 2009, 07:28:02 PM
by OptiMystic