Author Topic: Whirlpool Roper won't fill or agitate  (Read 758 times)

Offline 4david4

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: May 2014
  • Posts: 6
Whirlpool Roper won't fill or agitate
« on: May 24, 2014, 03:27:30 PM »
Hi there. I just found this forum today after looking for a solution.

So, I have a top loading, whirlpool Roper washing machine that won't fill or agitate whatsoever. Here's the thing, though. Just yesterday I found out I had a bad lid switch. I had a full/heavy load of clothes in there by the time I noticed. So just yesterday, it was still filling with water and agitating, but wouldn't spin/drain.

I just got my new lid switch today and installed it. Everything was fine, but now it won't fill or agitate, but it WILL spin and drain.

Now, yesterday when the washer was still full with water and clothes, I had to bail out the water and take all the clothes out. Could that have affected it in anyway? I also have 1 molex plug that doesn't seem to go anywhere. I can't remember if it actually plugged into anything, but just looking at its shape doesn't seem to match with any of the other plugs available.

Any help would be really appreciated as I don't have the time or money to actually get a new machine.

EDIT: I should also note that there is no sound when putting it on a cycle and I've checked the hoses as well.
« Last Edit: May 24, 2014, 03:30:28 PM by 4david4 »

Online dab147315

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Oct 2010
  • Posts: 1462
  • Country: us
Re: Whirlpool Roper won't fill or agitate
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2014, 03:43:26 PM »
Post your model #.

Offline 4david4

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: May 2014
  • Posts: 6
Re: Whirlpool Roper won't fill or agitate
« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2014, 04:14:18 PM »
sorry, but I can't seem to find the model #. Only part numbers. I think the tag that had the model number was rip off/damaged a while back.

It's a 2 speed, 6 cycle, heavy duty super capacity and is very similar to this model RAS7233KQ0

Offline 4david4

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: May 2014
  • Posts: 6
Re: Whirlpool Roper won't fill or agitate
« Reply #3 on: May 24, 2014, 04:46:22 PM »
I also tried to manually fill it with water to see if it would at least start agitating and it didn't

Offline 4david4

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: May 2014
  • Posts: 6
Re: Whirlpool Roper won't fill or agitate
« Reply #4 on: May 24, 2014, 04:59:12 PM »
Back again. I did some searching and was able to find a model number that matched my washer

Model# RAS6233KQ

Online dab147315

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Oct 2010
  • Posts: 1462
  • Country: us
Re: Whirlpool Roper won't fill or agitate
« Reply #5 on: May 25, 2014, 08:49:49 AM »
Check the water level switch you should read with a ohmmeter between pink and violet closed when washer is empty.Of coarse you have to remove the wires for this.double check everything you did.I guess you removed the whole cabinet to install new lid switch?And i guess you turn water back on if you shut it off?
http://www.appliancepartspros.com/whirlpool-water-level-switch-w10339229-ap4567832.html
Also take plastic tube off water level switch and blow down into tub and if possible blow back into water level switch.
« Last Edit: May 25, 2014, 08:53:47 AM by dab147315 »

Online dab147315

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Oct 2010
  • Posts: 1462
  • Country: us

Offline 4david4

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: May 2014
  • Posts: 6
Re: Whirlpool Roper won't fill or agitate
« Reply #7 on: May 25, 2014, 02:17:02 PM »
Thanks a ton for the reply and for a link to the manual. My ohm meter was busted a while back so I'm going to borrow one from a friend. I'll try blowing into the tube in a few here as well.

I'm also attaching a pic of the plugs to show the one that doesn't seem to fit anywhere. I've circled it in blue to the left.

Thanks again!

Online dab147315

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Oct 2010
  • Posts: 1462
  • Country: us
Re: Whirlpool Roper won't fill or agitate
« Reply #8 on: May 25, 2014, 02:23:57 PM »
That looks like it should plug in water level switch .
« Last Edit: May 25, 2014, 02:29:15 PM by dab147315 »

Online dab147315

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Oct 2010
  • Posts: 1462
  • Country: us
Re: Whirlpool Roper won't fill or agitate
« Reply #9 on: May 25, 2014, 02:26:49 PM »
You should have wire on that water level switch is there any?

Offline 4david4

  • VIP Member
  • Member Since: May 2014
  • Posts: 6
Re: Whirlpool Roper won't fill or agitate
« Reply #10 on: May 25, 2014, 02:44:33 PM »
Yes! Thank you for posting that picture! It helped me find where the socket was. I felt around for it earlier, but couldn't feel it. I guess that's what I get for second guessing myself.

Well, problem solved! Thanks for taking the time to help me out. It's really appreciated!

Online dab147315

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Oct 2010
  • Posts: 1462
  • Country: us
Re: Whirlpool Roper won't fill or agitate
« Reply #11 on: May 25, 2014, 02:46:58 PM »
Your welcome.

 

Whirlpool washer WTW58ESV100 agitate and fill

Started by diverboy1980

Replies: 6
Views: 1808
Last post December 20, 2011, 10:29:47 AM
by AJ
Repair Guide: Whirlpool Direct Drive Washer - No agitate or spin

Started by AJ

Replies: 13
Views: 28049
Last post January 02, 2009, 01:09:38 PM
by AJ
Kenmore (Whirlpool) washing machine will not agitate

Started by autumdove

Replies: 3
Views: 5585
Last post November 24, 2007, 10:18:04 PM
by rickgburton
Whirlpool Washer - No Agitate or Spin

Started by AJ

Replies: 0
Views: 2452
Last post December 27, 2007, 07:58:27 PM
by AJ
Whirlpool Washer - Does not agitate very good.

Started by AJ

Replies: 0
Views: 1919
Last post December 30, 2007, 09:51:09 PM
by AJ
Maytag Performa Washer will fill (after changing snubber) but will not agitate

Started by PD

Replies: 10
Views: 8683
Last post January 01, 2008, 05:14:06 PM
by AJ