Author Topic: Jenn-Air retractable stove hood fan  (Read 2166 times)

Offline shillion

• Technician
  • I have been repairing appliances since 1983
Jenn-Air retractable stove hood fan
« on: May 11, 2014, 05:30:27 AM »
My customer has a Jenn-Air retractable stove hood fan model number JXDR7301VS-0,it won't work any more.There is no signal lite to indicate anything,only a push button on the surface to operate.The control motor to raise or lower the hood fan is 33 volt dc motor with an 800 ma fuse.The fuse blew a month ago.The fuse was replaced a month ago and worked well for that month.Now the fuse blew again,but the hood would not go up or down even with a new fuse.The wiring diagram does not tell where to check for 33 v dc.The service manual is nowhere to see.I really need to find the manual.Please help! :ahhh:

Offline AJ

• Technician
    Administrator
    • ApplianceJunk.com - Appliance Repair
Re: Jenn-Air retractable stove hood fan
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2014, 08:37:27 AM »
The only retractable hood service manual I could come up with is for a Kitchen Aid.
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BzIiBNwRIV4NMkF1T1RLRzN3TTA/edit?usp=sharing
Not sure if it's similar to the one your working on or not.
Hope you find our site helpful.

Offline shillion

• Technician
« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2014, 11:54:58 AM »
Thank you very much AJ,your manual is exactly the right one for my trouble shooting.It shows the identical machine.It looks like I need to take the whole hood fan assembly out to do any testing because no info is available to test each motor or where to find the 33 v dc power.I will report back what I found out.Your help is super fast & greatly appreciated. :thanks:

Offline LowSL2

• Technician
  • Fletch F. Fletch
    • Buy me a beer through paypal
« Reply #3 on: May 11, 2014, 12:10:23 PM »