Author Topic: ge hydrowave lid switch issue?  (Read 249 times)

Offline romanowski72

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Dec 2011
  • Posts: 27
ge hydrowave lid switch issue?
« on: January 01, 2014, 03:32:06 PM »
Ok guys I think I got myself into a snafu! I have a appliance hvac repair business so sometimes I get peoples appliances that are too expensive to repair, long story short I got a ge hydrowave washer with a bad mode shifter. Which I replaced I went through and serviced the rest of machine and everything looked good. I did a couple test cycles and it was good to go. Machine was in excellent condition just a little chip on the lid.  I had another machine that the scrappers were gonna pick up, it was also a ge hydrowave with a good lid.
Here is where I think I goofed up these two lid switches are a little different but I thought the magnets in the lid were the same. When I switched the lids I left the magnets in place.  Customer picked up machine and now I have a open lid switch.

So does anyone know (AJ) if these are different maybe one hangs down further than the other.
I DO NOT HAVE MODEL# they had warn off of the lid on both machines.  The style of lid switch on my machine is the double pull, four wire style.
Thanks guys any input would be great.  I just got a call for a broken cooler so I will check back with you guys later.

Offline olyteddy

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Jul 2012
  • Posts: 89
  • Country: us
Re: ge hydrowave lid switch issue?
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2014, 03:46:49 PM »
There are indeed 2 types of magnet/switch combos. One requires one magnet, the other needs two. The ones that need two magnets have an audible click from 2 spots, one at the front and the other at the back.

Offline romanowski72

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Dec 2011
  • Posts: 27
Re: ge hydrowave lid switch issue?
« Reply #2 on: January 01, 2014, 07:46:37 PM »
Thanks oly I appreciate the input.  I hate to ask but would you have a part number I am gonna try to track it down if possible, but without model number it might be

Offline olyteddy

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Jul 2012
  • Posts: 89
  • Country: us
Re: ge hydrowave lid switch issue?
« Reply #3 on: January 01, 2014, 09:25:56 PM »
Figure out what kind (1 magnet or 2) you have and I'll see what I can find at work.

Offline romanowski72

  • Technician
  • Member Since: Dec 2011
  • Posts: 27
Re: ge hydrowave lid switch issue?
« Reply #4 on: January 01, 2014, 09:29:21 PM »
Thanks Oly I did track one down and ordered one.  That is a mistake I will not make again.

 

Transmission Issue

Started by engineerguy56

Replies: 3
Views: 2508
Last post November 18, 2007, 08:32:24 PM
by AJ
lg tromm spin issue

Started by Jos

Replies: 3
Views: 4349
Last post February 22, 2008, 10:53:16 AM
by RegUS_PatOff
Lid Switch error

Started by patron

Replies: 9
Views: 4531
Last post March 12, 2008, 02:49:25 PM
by patron
lid switch

Started by brad

Replies: 2
Views: 1942
Last post April 24, 2008, 04:52:12 PM
by brad
Washer Issue - Runs, Fills, Start Wash...Loud Grinding for 60s, Drain, Spin Done

Started by Moose101

Replies: 16
Views: 5593
Last post April 30, 2008, 05:39:30 PM
by AJ
magnetic lid switch

Started by JPG

Replies: 3
Views: 2046
Last post July 11, 2008, 05:23:30 PM
by RegUS_PatOff