365-Day Hassle Free Return Policy! - AppliancePartsPros
Washer Parts | Dryer Parts | Refrigerator Parts | Dishwasher Parts | Range & Oven Parts

Author Topic: Finally did my first GE rear dryer bearing today  (Read 87 times)

Offline nolazach

• Technician
Finally did my first GE rear dryer bearing today
« on: October 10, 2013, 09:27:00 PM »
Don't know why I have never done one before.  I have done tons of the frigidaire bearings, and the Whirlpool rollerblade wheels.  Also many of the mylar/plastic sliders.  Strange never had a GE rear bearing fail.  I knew it would be straight forward, but it is the most complex of the dryer bearings for sure.

Have to take the heating element ring off, then take the bearing cup out, replace it, and the new stop goes on different.

Was surprised by how the drum was harder than expected to put together.  Even using my new trick of magnetron magnets barely helped.  You have to support the rear stainless steel, then have the bearing in place on the rear.  took me a minute to get it.

It may be the best bearing design in conjunction with the plastic slides, as I have never had a call needing this repair before.  Compared to Frigidaire bearings, of which I have done three this month already.

Offline andersenappliance

• Technician
Re: Finally did my first GE rear dryer bearing today
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2013, 09:44:45 PM »
The best tool for putting the drum back together is long arms.  Thank goodness I'm a regular knuckle dragger. O0

Offline gscrandall

• Technician
« Reply #2 on: October 11, 2013, 11:33:07 PM »
And long fingers to remove  the lint buildup between those holes in the drums

Offline Wedgeman55

• Technician
  • Man vs Appliance - Never give up, Never surrender
« Reply #3 on: October 12, 2013, 02:04:12 AM »