365-Day Hassle Free Return Policy!  ·  AppliancePartsPros.com
Washer Parts  ·  Dryer Parts  ·  Refrigerator Parts  ·  Dishwasher Parts  ·  Range & Oven Parts  ·  All Appliance Parts 

Author Topic: Do you keep a parts inventory?  (Read 169 times)

Offline AlphaApp

• Technician
    • Lafayette Appliance Repair
Do you keep a parts inventory?
« on: March 11, 2013, 11:42:25 AM »
We have one parts supply place in my town.  They typically don't have at least one item I need, so I have to make my customer wait and it's usually a few days until the part arrives.  This also forces me to make at least two trips, thus impacting my bottom line   I'm new at this but obviously a waiting customer is bad business - especially with mission-critical appliances.  I know this is a subjective question, but do any of you stock commonly-used parts and if so, what parts?  Obviously, experience will dictate which parts as I gain more experience, but I just wanted to toss this out there.   

Thanks!
« Last Edit: March 11, 2013, 11:43:28 AM by AlphaApp »

Offline AJ

• Technician
    Administrator
    • ApplianceJunk.com - Appliance Repair
Re: Do you keep a parts inventory?
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2013, 12:32:45 PM »
Yes I keep lots of inventory. Even if we had a parts place in town I could not be running back to it during every service call anyway.

Here are just a couple topics that come to mind for inventory, but I'm sure there is more to be found.

Common Repair Parts for the Whirlpool Top Load Direct Drive Washer

Common Repair Parts for Whirlpool Electric and Gas Dryers

Think inventory will depend a lot of the brands you see or work on most often too. I mostly see Whirlpool/Maytag and Frigidaire around here.

Offline AlphaApp

• Technician
« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2013, 01:00:10 PM »