365-Day Hassle Free Return Policy!  ·  AppliancePartsPros.com
Washer Parts  ·  Dryer Parts  ·  Refrigerator Parts  ·  Dishwasher Parts  ·  Range & Oven Parts  ·  All Appliance Parts 

Author Topic: Customers that like to watch  (Read 300 times)

Offline haroldsappliance

• Technician
    • Appliance repair
Customers that like to watch
« on: February 27, 2013, 05:22:48 PM »
I've brought this topic up before, but would like to hear what and how others handle this situation. Now, I have more than 30 years experience repairing nearly all brands of appliances, however it is not uncommon for me to run into something I have never seen before. I don't mind being watched, but In a situation like this, even an experienced tech can be intimidated when someone is looking over your shoulder, especially when your not even sure how to get into the appliance. Had one the other day. Customer ask would it be ok for him to watch. I told the customer that I was unfamiliar with said unit and that I had in fact never ever seen one and that that was not uncommon. I ask for him to give me some time and I would figure it out. Well, some people can't take a hint, so I told him that since he was all over me, that I would take the model number to research problem and I would return at another time. Customer immediately ask me not to leave and that he would go sit in his chair. I was able to repair appliance in appr 15 minutes. At that point I ask for him to come to the kitchen and I explained in depth the nature of the problem and what it took to repair. Customer was very happy. I just wish there was a nice way to say "get tf out of here." Can anyone relate to this topic?

Online domain

• Technician
Re: Customers that like to watch
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2013, 05:33:56 PM »