Author Topic: Help a newbie get started in appliance repair  (Read 4416 times)

Offline Gaz

• VIP Member
Help a newbie get started in appliance repair
« on: September 23, 2012, 11:54:26 AM »
Hello

I'm very happy to have stumbled across these boards. There is a wealth of information that I hope is going to help me in the coming months.

I'm a complete newbie to the appliance repair business. I would like to hear from some more experienced technicians as to how I can start to build my knowledge of appliance repair.

Ultimately, I would like to buy and sell second hand appliances in my spare time to supplement my income. I would like to feel comfortable fixing any problem appliances that I may come across when dealing in this market.

Over the past few days I've come across these resources that may help me towards my goal:

- Penn Foster online appliance tech course: the school doesn't have very good reviews and also I read a post here saying that someone quit the course because they weren't receiving info on how to actually repair appliances, just how they work. Has anyone taken this course and found it worthwhile?

- Uncle Harry appliance training: this seems to be the sort of thing that I'm looking for. However, I can't afford the expensive price tag for the course. Has anyone signed up and found the site worthy of the price tag?

- http://www.amazon.com/Troubleshooting-Repairing-Major-Appliances-2nd/dp/0071481486/ref=pd_bxgy_b_img_y/186-2608408-3657660 - would anyone recommend this book for a newbie to start studying this area? Is there anything better?

- http://www.amazon.com/Major-Appliances-Fix-It-Yourself-Time-Books/dp/0809462044/ref=pd_sim_b_1 - would this still be a worthwhile read in 2012 or is it outdated?

- I also read some info recommending that newbies to appliance repair should gain a thorough understanding of basic circuitry and electronics. Would someone be able to recommend a good resource that will allow me to do this.